Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 09-09-08, 09:13 AM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,336
What's Maximum FSB you can get?

Just curious as to what the max FSB others can get here.

475MHz seems to be the highest I can go, anymore Vista doesn't boot and both XP and Ubuntu lock up.

__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 09-09-08, 10:30 AM
-VK- -VK- is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 237
Highest I managed so far is 520 on my Rampage Extreme.
__________________


Don't get lairy if your rig ain't scary!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-08, 06:52 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Highest I have managed is 480 on my Maximus. But with a dual I may be able to get past 500.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-08, 11:35 AM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,336
Yeah I was kind of tempted by the E8400 when I my rig together, but in the end opted for the Q9450 for video editing and such...

(gotta love Linux on a quad )

Meh.. I think 3.2GHz stable is perfect for me, cheap alternative to a QX9770 (€1000+ price difference).
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-08, 05:20 PM
GavX GavX is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 778
481 for me. Everything (nearly) is watercooled so soon hopefully can try and go for 500, just max everything
__________________
Fail Hard, Fail Often!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-08, 05:59 PM
Pyr0 Pyr0 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 845
600 with a dual and about 485 with my old quad

[edit] found my 600fsb validations

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=374466

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=408648

[edit] looks like i didn't bother validating the quad (now sold)
__________________
Intel i7 950

Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R

3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws PC3-12800

AMD HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC

Asus Xonar DX

Crucial C300, Vertex1, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's

Corsair AX850

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-08, 07:56 PM
gotmaxpower gotmaxpower is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 616
About 460 during the testing stages of overclocking my E8400.

I don't like overclocking much though, I rushed to put the settings back to default.
__________________
Professional OC3D/OCN lurker
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-09-08, 07:47 PM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
I only manage to get around 430FSB with my MSI P35 Neo2-FR. I don't have a screenshot for validation but I have managed to get my E2130 (1.6GHz stock) up to 3.44GHz and complete a 3DMark06 test Though I rushed to get it back to stock settings because it was on 1.525v! Too close to the max safe limit that Intel recommend for my likings to be honest!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-09-08, 08:02 AM
Bruce Banner Bruce Banner is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 18
515 for me
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-09-08, 09:25 AM
°TheMadDutchDude° °TheMadDutchDude° is offline
member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 840
Highest I've managed on my E2140 is 440MHz

It refuses to post at 445 even if I try to run 1.65v through it so I think that I have hit the FSB barrier, or do I need to up my northbridge or something?

Any ways, I'm not willing to try again at the moment, I don't want to push it too hard
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:38 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.