Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-07-08, 05:03 AM
ZXtra ZXtra is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Which will produce more heat?

I have a Q6600 that is prime95 stable at 3.6 GHZ, but the heat is becoming unmanageable at 67C-70C deg.

I can upgrade my cooling, but one of my ideas is to go to a dual core E8500.

Which will produce more heat, the Q6600 at 3.6 GHZ or an E8500 at 4.3 GHZ?

-ZXtra

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-07-08, 06:02 AM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
Depends on the volts going through them, but more than likely the Q6600
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-07-08, 12:47 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
Definitely the Q6600. THe E8500 will not be needing as much power as the Q6600 at those clocks. If they do require the same voltage, you are cooking your E8500...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-07-08, 04:58 PM
Super_Maximo Super_Maximo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 11
Yeah, the Q6600 would produce more heat for sure, as lamboman said, but if I were you I'd get a better CPU cooler or have more ventilation going through your system if possible. What cooler have you got at the moment?

Max
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-07-08, 05:21 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
E8500 @ 4.3 Ghz ?? I`d think that hotter than a 3.6 Ghz Q6600 tbh.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-07-08, 06:12 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
Nope, it won't. Not as much voltage going through.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-07-08, 11:12 PM
ZXtra ZXtra is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Thanks for the replies gentlemen!

I was kind of hoping that the dual core 45 nm E8500 would run cooler and my current CPU cooler would be up to the job. I was intending to get a dual core to play with anyway (higher overclocks).

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Super_Maximo'
What cooler have you got at the moment?

Max
I'm currently using a Corsair Nautilus 500 water cooler.

-ZXtra
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 17-07-08, 01:23 AM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
It will depend entirely on the chip you have, as with most things in overclocking.

Some Q6600s need 1.5/6v for 3.6ghz, some require no more than stock 1.35v. Likewise with the dual core. It could require the top end of what ever 45nm chips are capable of, or it could only require a very small amount.

Generalise as much as you want, but unless your buying a tested chip it could go either way.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-07-08, 01:56 AM
darkorb darkorb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,220
i require 1.52volts for 3.6ghz, in windows however it dips to 1.44-1.46
__________________
Intel Q6600 (Stock for now)

Scythe Infinity

XFX 680i LT

OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800

EVGA 8800GTS 640MB

Ultra Aluminus

Mushkin 650watt SLI

Seagate 500gb

Seagate 250gb

DVD Rom/Burner
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:38 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.