Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat > Rants
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 06-06-08, 03:41 PM
!TIMMY! !TIMMY! is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,592
Rubbish Work's PC's

Here at work the PC's are so so so bad! I have only just been upgraded to 512mb of DDR1 PC2700. I had to struggle on Windows XP with just 256mb before. I have 512mb on my graphics card at home!

2 People in my office are still on Windows 2000 lol! I also liked how everyone but the PC's on Windows 2000 have been upgraded to Office 2003, when that is 5 years old, and Office 2007 is out. Windows 2000 PC's don't get the upgrade, probably because they wouldn't meet the min spec lol.

Sigh. Rant over.

__________________
Mobo: DFI LP X48 LT T2R | Bios 12/24 | XSPC Delta Chipset

CPU: Intel Q9550 E0 @ 3.6ghz (424 x 8.5) | Swiftech GTZ

Ram: OCZ PC2-9200 4GB (2 x 2G Flex II @ 1121mhz 5-5-5-15 2T

GC: 2 x Sapphire 4870 1GB @ 780/4000

SC: Auzentech Forte 7.1

Monitors 3 x DGM 24" L2442W-VA LCD

HD's: 3 x WD 150GB Raptor (Raid 0) & 2 x Samsung F3 1TB (Raid 1)

Optical Drives: 2 x NEC DVD Writers

PSU: Enermax Modu82+ 625W

Case: NZXT Tempest

Cooling: Custom Water Cooling

OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64 Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 06-06-08, 03:59 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
sounds like college, we're on 933MHz pentium 3's, and if your lucky, you get the 1.4 P4, with either 128 or 256mb of DDR333, or somtimes 266, but the network is fast enough, so its not THAT bad, but we still use office XP too, and they all run xp for us atleast...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06-06-08, 04:02 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='ionicle'
sounds like college, we're on 933MHz pentium 3's, and if your lucky, you get the 1.4 P4, with either 128 or 256mb of DDR333, or somtimes 266, but the network is fast enough, so its not THAT bad, but we still use office XP too, and they all run xp for us atleast...
Wow what college do you got to?

The lowest spec PC at our college open to students is a 3Ghz P4 with 512Mb RAM.

And the highest spec open to students is a Core 2 Duo E6400 with 2Gb of Ram.

I was well surprised!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06-06-08, 04:05 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Kelsey Grammar...
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-06-08, 04:05 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
thats just the computer course room...

the library has C2D ones

the computer lab has 400MHz P4's

but the media room has C2Q

its a bit unfair really

we're getting onto the student council to do summet bout it...

they said they're working on it..

i go to East Riding College in Bridlington
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06-06-08, 04:18 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
If it makes u feel any better.. ur not alone. Although they`re not as wide spread, we have Compaq Evo(p4,pc133)/Dell Opti 260&270(p4,ddr)/HP DC7100/7600/7700+ thankfully in fairly decent ratios, but even so, out of 2000+ machines the numbers are fairly high.

Installed 512m strips of pc133 in 8/10 machines only last month - meh ??

As far as colleges are concerned, I would have thought it would pay for chip/hardware manufacturers to fill these places with gear that is good or atleast better than the average user/student`s home pc, at their own expense. Even if it was gear about to be eol. If ur school pc is better than ur home one, u`ll more likely spend money on upgrading.

Old machines are a pain to maintain tho.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06-06-08, 04:30 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
LOLZ, College with a Geforce?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06-06-08, 07:12 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Yeah it can sound spooky.

But I bet a pc made of:

AMD 939 x2 cpu

4g ddr

Geforce 7600+ series

(just as an example)

May not spank the 3dmarks, but it`ll handle a heck of alot of college based stuff, office, web dev, minor editing, and is better than many of the HP/Dell setups they usually have.

Switch out the Geforce for a... X1950 ?? (whatever it`s called), or I spose an ati 2xxx series, arguably older AM2 x2 cpus, and AMD/ATI could gain alot of friends with "old" kit. Potential customers too perhaps.

Make a unit, call it something, and charge the education places a rediculously small price for them. (of course the education places generally contract out to IT firms, who have their own contracts, so therein lies one problem.)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-06-08, 10:18 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Lowest spec computers at my High School are P4 2.4's with 256MB RAM, and they're only in one room. Highest spec ones are 4400+ Brisbane's X2's with 2GB RAM. They're in all of the classrooms.
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07-06-08, 12:42 AM
PP Mguire PP Mguire is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 3,249
My SR year in high school all the PCs where running P4 3.0ghz with 1gig DDR2 667 and FX5600s.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.