Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 31-05-08, 01:14 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
CPU too hot... but why??

Hello long time no psot, been really busy with gcses etc hehe...

Now, iv got a problem and I think I know whats causing it it is jsut unexpected.

I have a e8200 now, and in my dtek fuzion I have the quad nozzel. Quite simply im going back to a quad as soon as Ic an afford it which is when I have a job in about 2weeks time yay so probably quad in about a month, but I wanted to OC thisn thing as 2.6ghz is hardly its max potential....

But all stock at idbe, I find one core hitting 34degrees and the other hitting 45degrees.

Im assuming the quad nozzel is causing these high temps but is that likely?? I've reapplied thermal paste after cleaning it all off it made no difference. No air pockets in my loop ive checked, pump working at max and a triple rad cooling it all so that shouldn't be a problem

Temps measured with real temp and core temp. Idle voltage is 1.21.

Thanks.

__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 31-05-08, 01:32 PM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
Ide say the only things to check are to remove the quad nozzle and try a dual one and to reseat the block once more.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 31-05-08, 02:03 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
Another thing to bare in mind is that you might have a stuck sensor. The wolfdales have been a bit quirky as far as temperature readouts go.

Also, idle temperatures are one thing but load is another. So long as your load temperatures aren't all that high I wouldn't be too concerned and continue overclocking anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 31-05-08, 02:47 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
Load temps are 39/50. Far too high for high end water..... my quad at 3.6 even wasn't getting this high.

I think im gonna have to change this nozzel *sigh* if I even got the other ones still.
__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-05-08, 04:53 PM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
Lol, i guess the quad nozzle does make a big difference!.. Well tbh if your only using it for a while those temps are bad so just dont clock it.. Use it at stock.. Its hardly slow.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-05-08, 04:58 PM
lamboman lamboman is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 181
As people have said before, try a dual nozzle. You could try lapping the processor, but I don't think that it will make a huge difference. Anyhow, check how flat they are.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-06-08, 08:49 PM
Hatman Hatman is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 771
Im not lapping thats almost never necesary to "fix" a problem just to improve some temps and it voids all warrenty anyway.

Btw I do need those clocks lol because my fav game is supcom and its lagging!!!

Plan basically is to wait until i get a job ina bout 2weeks time.. earn some money... then when they come out get a nice new GTX and Qsomething with a high multi.

Until then ill stay put hehe....
__________________
CM Stacker 830 | Asus P45 P5Q-E | Q6600 - 9x378 - 3400 | 2x 2GB CORSAIR XMS2 DHX 760mhz | 2 x Palit 4830 625/1880 CrossfireX | WD740 Raptor - OS | WD3200AAKS - Games | 2nd WD3200AAKS - Storage| Custom WC'ing for CPU

3dmark06 = 18k + oh yeh



Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:06 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.