Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 21-03-08, 05:00 PM
ryango69 ryango69 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Urgent help needed to overclock QX9650 with Asus Striker 2 MB

I really need some help in overclocking my System specifying mb paramaters if possible. Im realtively new to the overclocking game and the Striker 2 MB has got me beat. Im looking for a stable oc around the 4.2 mhz mark with my ram setup to run at the correct speed. Currently the system is running using the cpu step up option on the motherboard and running at 3.5mhz quite happily but i know there is a lot more capacity there as im using liquid cooling.

I have included a list of the equipment and can supply mb screenshots of current config:

Nvidia 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 Dual DVI PCI-E Graphics Card OEM

Asus Striker II Formula 780i SLI Socket 775 8 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard

OCZ 4GB Kit (2x2G DDR2 1000MHz/PC2-8000 Memory REAPER X EDITION ENHANCED BANDWITH CL5

Thermaltake Kandalf LCS

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 22-03-08, 01:57 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,789
For starters matey the level up feature is great for a quick boost but for your requested overclock you are going to have to go manual.

Im not familiar with the bios on that mobo but I would go in and set the ram speeds up to start with (std rated timings)

A cpu core voltage of 1.4v would be good to start with, still very safe but should allow you some oc head room.

An idea to take the nothbridge and fsb voltages up a notch too.

then set the fsb to 400 and the multiplyer to 9 this should give you 3.6ghz.

Basicaly what you do is keep upping the fsb and testing to see if its stable with a program like prime95.

This is a very quick rough guide but you can find more by googling.

I will say that for a quad if you want a high overclock I would be looking at changing your watercooling. Im really not a fan Tt kit, its unreliable and doesnt really work that well. For the money you have spent on your system a custom watercooling setup would have been much more down your street.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 22-03-08, 04:11 PM
ryango69 ryango69 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 3
Northbridge and southbridge settings ?

Hi thanks for the help, i will test this out. What temps should i set the north and southbridge at ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 22-03-08, 04:26 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is online now
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 14,789
Temps...? Volts you mean.

As I said Im not familiar with the bios on that board and volts can vary tbh.

Just bump it up a notch, should be fine at 400fsb.

Get it booting at 3.6 then we can try to get you over the 4ghz mark.

Will be mobo dependant though, Im not a fan of nvidia chipsets.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 23-03-08, 12:21 AM
The Computer Council The Computer Council is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 106
Do check the temperatures on that board of the north and south bridge (as you seem to be doing). We've used a few of these boards where stock temps were too toasty but instantly dropped when pushing/holding the heatsinks down, suggesting a manufacturing defect - though it doesn't affect all boards.

Make sure your first step is updating your BIOS to the latest official version.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:34 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.