Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 13-01-08, 04:02 PM
mark73 mark73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Rackmount Cases

Hey,

Has anyone on here ever built a computer that will fit in a 19" Rack. They use them for servers mainly but i want to build one for a recording studio. If i bought a 4U server case for instance would it be just the same to build as a normal ATX case ?

If anyone has one i would be grateful to see some pictures and opinions.

Also, they are generally more expensive than ATX cases so is there anywhere that sell them cheap or should i keep an eye out on ebay for a second hand one ?

Cheers

Mark

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-01-08, 07:27 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mark73'
Hey,

Has anyone on here ever built a computer that will fit in a 19" Rack. They use them for servers mainly but i want to build one for a recording studio. If i bought a 4U server case for instance would it be just the same to build as a normal ATX case ?

If anyone has one i would be grateful to see some pictures and opinions.

Also, they are generally more expensive than ATX cases so is there anywhere that sell them cheap or should i keep an eye out on ebay for a second hand one ?

Cheers

Mark
Yeah I've built a few 1u and 2u rigs and its pretty much exactly the same as building inside a tower case. Only thing to look out for is the size of the CPU cooler (tho this shouldn't be a problem on 4u).

Deffo keep an eye out on ebay. 4U's aren't generally as desirable as 1u and 2u, so they should go pretty cheap
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13-01-08, 07:35 PM
mark73 mark73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
Cheers.

I only used 4U as an example because i didnt think you would be able to fit things like PCI cards into a 1U or 2U. But like you say, a 4U should be more straight forward anyway.So can you use a normal power supply or has it got to be a different one ?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-01-08, 07:54 PM
mark73 mark73 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 104
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/19-black-rackm...QQcmdZViewItem

Do you reckon that would be worth a bid ? I know its a mess and needs a panel in the back but with a good clean up and a little bit of work do you reckon it would work ?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-01-08, 08:25 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I think it could be OK, but it might be worth getting something a little more together
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-01-08, 08:57 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mark73'
Cheers.

I only used 4U as an example because i didnt think you would be able to fit things like PCI cards into a 1U or 2U. But like you say, a 4U should be more straight forward anyway.So can you use a normal power supply or has it got to be a different one ?
if you buy a 1u /2u case new it will come with a riser card that allows PCI cards to be inserted horizontally. In an average 2u case you will have space for two PCI cards, 1U will have space for one card.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mark73'
http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/19-black-rackm...QQcmdZViewItem

Do you reckon that would be worth a bid ? I know its a mess and needs a panel in the back but with a good clean up and a little bit of work do you reckon it would work ?
Nah hold out. I see 4U's one ebay quite a bit.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:00 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.