Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-03-05, 09:48 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Nvidia Overclocking Tools

Below is a list of tools used for overclocking Nvidia Graphics Cards.

RivaTuner 2.0 RC 15.4

Rivatuner is one of the (if not the) best Tweak Utilities available for NVIDIA GeForce and ATI Radeon based videocards.

Powerstrip 3.58

PowerStrip provides advanced, multi-monitor, programmable hardware support to a wide range of graphics cards - from the venerable Matrox Millennium I to the latest GeForce 6600GT and ATI X850.

NVTweak

NVTweak unlocks many extra options in the nVidia control panel/driver, including but not limited to - Overclocking, AGP & Hardware settings, Fan control, Temperature settings, Debugging, Twin View, Video Mixing Renderer, OpenGL 2.0 support, 3D viewer types (for 3D Stereo drivers), and more.

Forceware Coolbits 2.0

Coolbits 2 unleashes hidden function within ForceWare drivers, it enables several new Direct3d and OpenGL configuration tabs, and even more tweaking capability from the nVidia taskbar settings panel.

Nvidia BIOS Editor

This tool can be used to edit bios image files for all NVIDIA cards, except old TNT and TNT2 cards with Control Block version less than 3

Coolbits

Enable overclocking in NVIDIA Detonator drivers.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 11-03-05, 10:13 PM
Anlix Anlix is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13
AAAAAAAA MY VIDEOCARD IS ON FIRE!!!!!

no dude, i'm not gonna do it again.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 11-03-05, 10:39 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I personally prefer coolbits reg hack. Easy to do and manage and gets good results. I don't do hard modding either, so nVidia OC'ing is good for me!

As this is a sticky - those who are new to OC'ing are best to try this and read the advice here:

http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/39-p1.php

This helps a lot - its a bit old but is good solid advice!

If you're OC'ing always check the temperature reading on the card and always stop if there are strange things on the screen when paying games....bad1
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-03-05, 04:21 PM
LordVampyre LordVampyre is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 8
can I safely assume that you cant use all these programs together or can you?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-03-05, 04:26 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='LordVampyre'
can I safely assume that you cant use all these programs together or can you?
There would be no need to really. However you could modify your bios using one of the bios editors and also use one of the software tools too...
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-11-06, 02:47 PM
T.D. T.D. is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 15
thanks for riva tuner i have now successfully blown up my graphics card now i gotta buy anotehr 1 great reason
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-11-06, 03:33 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='T.D.'
thanks for riva tuner i have now successfully blown up my graphics card now i gotta buy anotehr 1 great reason
Riva Tuner is not a tool made by us: but by an external person. We do not accept any liability for the guides/programs used on OC3D

/public service announcement
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 30-04-07, 12:01 PM
youpla's Avatar
youpla youpla is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 452
nVidia nTunes 5.05.38.00:

Release Notes:

This is a complete, updated release of the NVIDIA nTune. You are not required to install a previous version of this application before installing the latest version.

nTune 5.05 adds support for GPU temperature monitoring and overclocking on all motherboards.

On nForce motherboards where specific BIOS support is not available, only basic functionality will be available.

Products support for advanced motherboard monitoring features:

nForce 220, nForce 220D, nForce 415 and nForce 420D

nForce2 and nForce2 400

nForce2 Ultra and nForce2 Ultra 400

nForce2 400R and nForce2 Ultra 400Gb

nForce3 150 and nForce3 PRO 150

nForce3 250, nForce3 250Gb and nForce3 PRO 250

nForce4 Pro 2200, nForce4 Ultra, and nForce4 SLI

nForce 590 SLI, nForce 570 SLI, nForce 570 Ultra, nForce 550

nForce 680a SLI, nForce 680i SLI/680i SLI LT, nForce 650i SLI/650i Ultra

Supported operating systems for this release:

Windows XP (32-bit)

Windows XP x64 Edition

Windows Vista (32-bit)

Windows Vista x64 Edition

Best when run at 1024x768 16-bit color

Download here: http://www.nvidia.com/object/ntune_5.05.38.00.html
__________________
ATG
Intel Core i7 3770K, Asus Sabertooth Z77, Corsair Dominator-GT 16Gb, Corsair Force-GT 240Gb, Seagate Momentus XT Hybrid 750Gb
Corsair Obsidian 550D, Corsair AX850 Gold, Corsair Hydro H100, Corsair Vengeance K60 keyboard, M60 mouse and 1500 headset
2x Asus GTX670-DC2-2GD5 SLI, Asus VS238 LED monitor

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-08-08, 09:42 AM
anklebiter anklebiter is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 74
is Powerstrip 3.58

still valis for the new GTX 200 series GPUs ie the Gtx280 in SLi

Thanks

Ollie
__________________
_______________________________________________

CPU:Intel Core 2 Quad QX9650 3.00GHz Quad Core

Mobo: EVGA ATX 790i Ulra SLi

Ram: 8GB (4x2G CorsairTwinX XMS3 Dominator, DDR3 (1800Mhz)

GPU: (SLi) 2x 1GB Leadtek GTX 280,

HDD: (Raid) 2x 300 GB VelociRaptor,

HDD Storage: 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F1

CDROM/BlueRay: LG GGW-H20L Blu-Ray Disc Re-Writer & HD DVD-Rom SATA (Black)

Case: Lian Li A77

OS: Vista Ultimate 64-bit for System Builders

:bow:

Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-11-10, 11:02 PM
yggdrasil yggdrasil is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: WA, Australia
Posts: 468
Send a message via MSN to yggdrasil
Ok I know this topic is old but just curious what tools people are using to OC nvidia cards these tools are a bit old, what are people currently using. I was using Asus smart doctor but it seems pretty limited. Is there any way of setting a OC in the cards bios?

EDIT: I am running a Asus 460GTX with a 9800GTX+ as Physx
__________________

|Cosmos S2 - Rampage4E - I7 3930@4.5 - AX1200 -H100 - 16GB 1600 -120 GT SSD - 2x3TB - Dual 460's - 4 Assu 24" 1080p screens|
|DF-85 - i7 870 - 8GB 1600 - 9x 2TB HDD's|
|Antec 600 two - P5Q Pro - Q9400 - 8GB 800Mhz - 60GB SSD|
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.