Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 10-09-04, 02:18 PM
gorby gorby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 194
DFI's new LANPartyUT nForce3 250GB

http://www.dfi.com.tw/press/press_he...25.jsp&SITE=UK

Well the rains starting im putting my boats away and thinking about a 2nd winter with my prommie.

Its gotta be a 64 bit set up this time around for me. Im not v impressed by LGA and the new intel chipsets. Never played around with an AMD 64 bit set up with extreme cooling so should be fun. From what ive read around 3ghz the limit right?

Is anyone thinking about one of these boards? There getting some rave reviews the only thing im slightly concerned about is the absence of dual channel memory controller. Is this an issue on 64 bit boards seeing as it memory access works completely differently? Did a batch of boards not come out with dual channel on them? Did they give a significant performance increase?

mmm Looking forward to the fun ill be having..

ohh btw can we still get socket 754 machII kits?

__________________
<ahref="http:>Amd Xp 1800 clocked @ 1725

msi microatx board with some via controller

1 GB 3200

1TB array

2 x Hauppauge WinTV PVR-250

:OnVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]:O

Linux 2.6.8-2-k7

nvidia module 1.0-8178

xorg

mythv

apache2

</ahref="http:> [EP-UK] Uptime Stats]<ahref="http:></ahref="http:>
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-09-04, 02:55 PM
dillingerdan dillingerdan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Yeah I admit these boards look good! Although I am upgrading to S939, so if they release one of these as S939 then I'll definitely get one!

Remember the memory controller is integrated into the CPU in Athlon64's so Dual channel is only available in S939 or S940 chips as these have integrated dual-channel memory controllers that is why they need more pins in the socket! S754 only has a single-channel memory controller!

The limit is around 3GHz yes! With the 512Kb Newcastle chips being able to clock a little higher from what Ive seen!
__________________


Quote:
Stan Smith - American Dad!



You know whats so wrong about Gayness? If there are 2 men, who has the Vagina?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-09-04, 03:05 PM
Wingz Wingz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 114
the price on this board is good to, saw it for £70 inc Vat
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-09-04, 03:06 PM
fatty fatty is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,630
Remember that these are still revision 1 mobo's the golden rule which I broke with this and my ausu k8v do not buy revision 1 mobos
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-09-04, 03:13 PM
gorby gorby is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 194
Quote:
Originally Posted by dillingerdan
Yeah I admit these boards look good! Although I am upgrading to S939, so if they release one of these as S939 then I'll definitely get one!

Remember the memory controller is integrated into the CPU in Athlon64's so Dual channel is only available in S939 or S940 chips as these have integrated dual-channel memory controllers that is why they need more pins in the socket! S754 only has a single-channel memory controller!

The limit is around 3GHz yes! With the 512Kb Newcastle chips being able to clock a little higher from what Ive seen!
cheers fer that dan, id never made the connection. Ill probably wait, but the s939 chips are a fair bit more price wise arent they, or is there a similar sort of intel extreme edition afair going on?
__________________
<ahref="http:>Amd Xp 1800 clocked @ 1725

msi microatx board with some via controller

1 GB 3200

1TB array

2 x Hauppauge WinTV PVR-250

:OnVidia Corporation NV11 [GeForce2 MX/MX 400]:O

Linux 2.6.8-2-k7

nvidia module 1.0-8178

xorg

mythv

apache2

</ahref="http:> [EP-UK] Uptime Stats]<ahref="http:></ahref="http:>
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-09-04, 04:39 PM
Warlord Shigs Warlord Shigs is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 288
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Wingz'
the price on this board is good to, saw it for £70 inc Vat
where did u c that m8?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-09-04, 05:00 PM
Wingz Wingz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 114
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warlord Shigs'
where did u c that m8?
sent u a pm as its competitor so don't want to post it in the thread.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 10-09-04, 10:48 PM
BILKO1 BILKO1 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 34
DFI will bring a s939 board out soon thats what i'm waiting/saving for gotta have dual channel Plus the cpu's will be cheaper by then.
__________________
INTEL Q6600 @ 3600 24/7

MACH 2 GT Lian Li PC65

NEXUS NX8060 600w

ASUS P5B deluxe wifi

CRUCIAL BALLISTIX DDR2 PC2-8500 2 x 1gb

GAINWARD 8800 GTS 640mb @ 660/1020

MAXTOR sata2 for testing/benching
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 17-09-04, 08:40 AM
dillingerdan dillingerdan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Warlord Shigs'
where did u c that m8?
OOOH same question! Thinking of going Skt754!
__________________


Quote:
Stan Smith - American Dad!



You know whats so wrong about Gayness? If there are 2 men, who has the Vagina?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:04 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.