Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Sub-Zero Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-06-04, 10:37 AM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
vapo LS vs mach2

quote from opp

Quote:

In my opinion the asetek VapoChill LS is an excellent cooler. There are 4 reasons I personally would buy the LS over the MachII; mounting, cooling, price, and quick startup with no 2 minute restart period.
http://www.xtremesystems.org/modules...wcontent&id=41

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-06-04, 12:20 PM
Phil Stanbridge Phil Stanbridge is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,558
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shane5578
Shane, do you use the grease with your LS? I'm going to be setting a unit up for myself shortly I want to see what all the fuss is about
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-06-04, 12:54 PM
Platty Platty is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 56
AFAIK he does and from what I've read its highly recommended.

Aparantly proper die electric grease is better as you can get it off easier. You planning on stocking any Phil? Would be a good addition IMO.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-06-04, 01:05 PM
nick25
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phil Stanbridge'
Shane, do you use the grease with your LS? I'm going to be setting a unit up for myself shortly I want to see what all the fuss is about
lol, phill how often do you change your setup!? Also I know you've often said in the past that your system is very quiet - did you change the fans in your PCpower&cooling PSU?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-06-04, 02:07 PM
BaD CrC BaD CrC is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 66
Shane, I hate to break this warm feeling of thinking you spent your money rightly, but if you look closely at this test, the comparison is made between the LS and a basic Mach2, not the Mach2 GT which still today owns the LS.

You may want to read that instead:

http://xtremeresources.com/modules.p...id=2006&page=1

They got one point though (I hope it'll make you feel better), owners of Mach2 are anyway screwed for future evolutions like the coming 939 socket and Mach2 are indeed more expensive.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-06-04, 02:14 PM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
LOL

i read that review as well when it came out....

i think its cheaky that opp doesnt even mention the mach 2 GT which is the top of the range model...

anyways...the vapo LS was made to compete with the mach 2, not the GT and they are very close , that proves the LS has still got some excellent performance
__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-06-04, 06:31 PM
Shane5578 Shane5578 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 96
i've just taken out my 3.0c after 2months, its got lots of stiff white thermal compound on the pins. no sign of green corrosion though which is good.

i'm at 4ghz again with my 3.2c at 1.65v, gotta watchout for SNDS
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-06-04, 08:01 PM
Brwmogazos Brwmogazos is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 441
i am pushing ~1.77V 24/7 no probs with my 2.8 @ arround 4.2ghz no worries...

i think you shoud push that 3.2 a bit more
__________________


^^14-07-2004^^Prescott skt 478 D0 @306FSB 1.632V
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-07-04, 12:21 AM
dillingerdan dillingerdan is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 126
Quote:
Originally Posted by BaD CrC
Shane, I hate to break this warm feeling of thinking you spent your money rightly, but if you look closely at this test, the comparison is made between the LS and a basic Mach2, not the Mach2 GT which still today owns the LS.

You may want to read that instead:

http://xtremeresources.com/modules.p...id=2006&page=1

They got one point though (I hope it'll make you feel better), owners of Mach2 are anyway screwed for future evolutions like the coming 939 socket and Mach2 are indeed more expensive.
Why are us Mach II users screwed when it comes to Skt939? It uses the same mount as the rest of the athlon 64 series! I plan to use my A64 Mounting kit I managed to aquire on a Skt939 chip very soon! LGA775 on the other hand is a different story but then I'm not an Intel fan so it doesn't bother me!
__________________


Quote:
Stan Smith - American Dad!



You know whats so wrong about Gayness? If there are 2 men, who has the Vagina?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-07-04, 08:46 AM
tc_overclocker tc_overclocker is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 100
The A64/FX kits do work on socket 939 as the layout is identical to both of them... just missing a pin compared to socket 940...

I'm presently using it on my ASUS A8V and FX53
__________________
A64 3500+ @ 2.6GHz (Winchester)

MSi Neo2 Platinum

4x256MB's BH-5

Sapphire X800Pro VIVO
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:55 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.