Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 07-06-05, 09:24 PM
Arkanoid Arkanoid is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
Windows XP 64 Bit

Ok now Windows XP 64 bit is currently out, whey I can use it on my 64 bit Athlon..... erm nope sorry you cant. Read on (this took me ages i stole this from this months issue of computer shopper so u lot dont have to buy it)

The Low Down

On 23rd September 2003, AMD brought 64-bit computing to the attention of mainstram computer users when it launched the groundbreaking Athlon 64. However, there was a hitch in AMD's plan:

64-bit chips cant do anything special without a 64-bit operating system. True, several distributions of 64-bit Linux are available, but 64-bit version of windows was needed if 64-bit computing were really to cross into the mainstream.

Microsoft has now removed the beta tags from its 64-bit version of windows, known as windows XP proffesional x64 Edition.

A 64-bit proccessor that supports AMD64 or EMT64T is the only hardware you absoulotly must have to run Windows XP x64, this comprimises AMD's Athlon 64 and operton range along with the latest generations on intel proccessors.

INFO: Until the 31st July 2005, anyone with a 64-bit capable PC running windows XP proffesional and bought after the 31st March 2003 can upgrade for FREE. HOWEVER, doing so will invalidate any support package your currently have.

What is 64-Bit?

When chip manufactuers upgraded their proccessors from an 8-bit based to 16-bits and then 32 bits, they dramaticaly increased there ability to perform complex tasks. When we describe a proccessor, operating system or anything else as 64-bit were reffering to the amount of data it can muniplate as a single chunk. A 32-bit proccessor can perform opertations on chunks of data of up to 64 digits.

Thats all the intresting stuff guys left the rest out... but still worth knowing.

Thanks,

Arky =)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 07-06-05, 10:06 PM
ionicle_old ionicle_old is offline
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,735
wow, i dint know any of that! repps for you!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 07-06-05, 10:32 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Interesting, interesting indeed!
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 07-06-05, 10:39 PM
Arkanoid Arkanoid is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
yep so any of u got a legit copy of 64-bit u will get FREE upgrade! lol who does... haha!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 07-06-05, 10:41 PM
ionicle_old ionicle_old is offline
member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,735
i got a ledgit copy of xp 32 bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 07-06-05, 10:41 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Arkanoid'
yep so any of u got a legit copy of 64-bit u will get FREE upgrade! lol who does... haha!
I have legit copies of all Windows OS's Benefits of your father being an ex-Microsoft employee, hehe.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 07-06-05, 10:49 PM
Arkanoid Arkanoid is offline
member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 92
DAMMIT u suck frag =(

get me some pllllllllllllllllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssseeeeeeeeeee!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 07-06-05, 11:09 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arkanoid
DAMMIT u suck frag =(

get me some pllllllllllllllllllllllllllllleeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee eeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaasssssssssssseeeeeeeeeee!
Nope, for me and me only
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-06-05, 08:58 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I Have a legit copy of XP-Pro
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-06-05, 12:36 PM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
i have a legit copy of xp home......but im using xp pro
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 02:18 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.