Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-10-07, 02:51 PM
cube cube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Highest OC on air for 4200+

Hey guys - I have a 4200+ and it is currently running stable at ~2.96GHz with a sizeable 1.528v and 11x Multiplier - anyone got a higher clock for a 4200+ than this? If so, how did you do it and is it stable? Can get mine up to about 3.02GHz and it isn't too stable.

Cheers

__________________
Regards,

Rob

_____________________________________________

Antec 900 | PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire PSU | MSI K9A Platinum mobo | AMD Athlon 64x2 4200+ @ 2.96GHz | 2GB dual channel OCZ DDR2 Crossfire RAM modules | NVidia GeForce 9800GTX | Samsung HD400LJ Sata2 400GB HDD

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 20-10-07, 02:54 PM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
Few Athlons can do much over 3GHz... if you're on air, I'd say consider yourself fortunate to have gotten that far. I took mine up to 1.55V and couldn't get past 2.65GHz
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 20-10-07, 02:57 PM
darkorb darkorb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,220
Wow thats awesome!!

on my X2 3800+, S939 that is, im at 270x10 at 1.5v. i could deff hit higher if my mobo would allow more volts than that

But honestly, thats a very nice OC, and if i were you, i would go for 3ghz. what are your temps anyways?
__________________
Intel Q6600 (Stock for now)

Scythe Infinity

XFX 680i LT

OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800

EVGA 8800GTS 640MB

Ultra Aluminus

Mushkin 650watt SLI

Seagate 500gb

Seagate 250gb

DVD Rom/Burner
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20-10-07, 03:28 PM
cube cube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
To be honest I am not sure of the temps actually - I need some temp monitoring software if anybody can suggest some? The MSI application Dual Core Centre is not yet compatible with Vista... But yeah I will try to push for 3GHz - reached it before but it was unstable so it may require higher voltage.

UPDATE: 3.02GHz reached.

__________________
Regards,

Rob

_____________________________________________

Antec 900 | PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire PSU | MSI K9A Platinum mobo | AMD Athlon 64x2 4200+ @ 2.96GHz | 2GB dual channel OCZ DDR2 Crossfire RAM modules | NVidia GeForce 9800GTX | Samsung HD400LJ Sata2 400GB HDD

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-10-07, 03:59 PM
darkorb darkorb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,220
Wow very nice.

Go download coretemp, or everest, u need to no ur temps or else GG

how many volts?
__________________
Intel Q6600 (Stock for now)

Scythe Infinity

XFX 680i LT

OCZ 2 x 2GB Platinum DDR2 800

EVGA 8800GTS 640MB

Ultra Aluminus

Mushkin 650watt SLI

Seagate 500gb

Seagate 250gb

DVD Rom/Burner
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-10-07, 05:17 PM
Allargando Allargando is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 130
nice work there

hopefully your temps aren't in the 50-60C range

I've only been able to get to about 2565 (270 x 9.5 @ 1.5V) on my x2 3800 s939

I've used both core temp and everest

core temp has a much smaller footprint, but everest tells you a lot more

right now everest seems to be reading temps a bit high compared to the other sensors I'm running (asus pc probe, AI booster and core temp)
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 20-10-07, 06:01 PM
tuco tuco is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 94
Nice OC, I couldn't get more than 2.525 GHz out of my X2 4600. Probably because I had a dirt-cheap motherboard (ASUS M2NPV-VM) that wouldn't let me change the CPU voltage. That's what you get when you spend $102 on a motherboard...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 20-10-07, 07:40 PM
irtehbobert irtehbobert is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3
Hi. Wonder if you could all help me. I have the 4200+ and being the n00b i am i downclocked it. i have a gigabyte m55S-S3 mobo and just wondered what i need to get the most i can out of my processor without oblitorating it. i have a

Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro V2 On it atm

help would be much appreciated.

thanks guys.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 20-10-07, 08:40 PM
cube cube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='irtehbobert'
Hi. Wonder if you could all help me. I have the 4200+ and being the n00b i am i downclocked it. i have a gigabyte m55S-S3 mobo and just wondered what i need to get the most i can out of my processor without oblitorating it. i have a

Arctic Cooling Freezer 64 Pro V2 On it atm

help would be much appreciated.

thanks guys.
Hey good to hear from you - I am by no means an expert - I suppose the OC you can achieve really is unique to each processor, as every one will clock differently. It seems I must have a pretty good chip to get up to 3GHz, but as I understand it the average OC for a 4200+ would be around the 2.6-2.7GHz mark.

The easiest way to do this would simply be to up the FSB (The HTT Link SPeed is the same thing) Leave the multiplier at 11x so you can achieve a higher clock with a lower FSB - Also I would suggest upping the voltage to around 1.45V or somewhere around that mark and up your case fans quite high to keep the chip cool.

If you want your memory running faster then drop the multi down to 10x and your RAM will get a larger dividend of the HTT speed and will run faster.

Tips basically are don't go too high if your hardware isn't up to the job (crap RAM will not OC well) and make sure you have enough airflow to keep it all cool.

Hope this helps.
__________________
Regards,

Rob

_____________________________________________

Antec 900 | PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire PSU | MSI K9A Platinum mobo | AMD Athlon 64x2 4200+ @ 2.96GHz | 2GB dual channel OCZ DDR2 Crossfire RAM modules | NVidia GeForce 9800GTX | Samsung HD400LJ Sata2 400GB HDD

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 20-10-07, 08:42 PM
cube cube is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='darkorb'
Wow very nice.

Go download coretemp, or everest, u need to no ur temps or else GG

how many volts?
1.576 Volts I believe.
__________________
Regards,

Rob

_____________________________________________

Antec 900 | PCP&C Silencer 750w Quad Crossfire PSU | MSI K9A Platinum mobo | AMD Athlon 64x2 4200+ @ 2.96GHz | 2GB dual channel OCZ DDR2 Crossfire RAM modules | NVidia GeForce 9800GTX | Samsung HD400LJ Sata2 400GB HDD

_____________________________________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:53 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.