Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-07-07, 01:05 PM
AydST AydST is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 533
Q6600

well it seems so far that it's the old version of these that have come back in to the UK, 3 out of 5 of our possible Intel suppliers have confirmed the old stepping part code

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-07-07, 01:16 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='AydST'
well it seems so far that it's the old version of these that have come back in to the UK, 3 out of 5 of our possible Intel suppliers have confirmed the old stepping part code
Can I just ask why are these G0 steppings meant to be so G0od? (sorry... Couldn't resist).
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-07-07, 01:23 PM
ichiban ichiban is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 108
I'm going wait for people's overclocking results with these G0 steppings b4 buying, but in theory it use less power meaning less heat so better overclocking...
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-07-07, 01:27 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Damn.

The G0's are supposed to run cooler and OC better... Hence the excitement.

Ichiban, there are plenty of examples at XS if you look at the q6600 OC database thread. Some guy has a q6600 @ 3.9 orthos stable. That is just one guy though.

I'm beginning to think its just hype, and your OC is just down to luck as some of the 6550 6750 9g0 c2d's) haven't clocked well at all, where as some have.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24-07-07, 01:33 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
Damn.

The G0's are supposed to run cooler and OC better... Hence the excitement.

Ichiban, there are plenty of examples at XS if you look at the q6600 OC database thread. Some guy has a q6600 @ 3.9 orthos stable. That is just one guy though.

I'm beginning to think its just hype, and your OC is just down to luck as some of the 6550 6750 9g0 c2d's) haven't clocked well at all, where as some have.
You decided yet on what you're going for? The Q6600 or the E6850?
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24-07-07, 02:04 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Well, I sold my e6600 at the weekend, i forgot to update the bios to the latest version which would have covered me for 1333fsb support - leaving my options open.

I was leaning towards a q6600 G0 anyway, I'm pretty sure the 6850 won't work as my bios is too old (i'm annoyed i forgot to flash my bios!) so my decision was accidently made for me, q6600.

Only I only want the q6600 G0 - and getting one is nigh on impossible.

ST have B3's as do Tekheads. I just got off the phone to another place, who rang each of their suppliers for me - the consesus was 'no G0's will appear until the B3's have gone'.

I wasn't sure if he was trying to get a sale but I'm trying to hold our for our boys (ST/Tek)

I'm just ed I have no pc at the mo!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24-07-07, 03:07 PM
prosser13 prosser13 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 309
Meh, this is what I've been saying for the past two weeks Expect to see G0 steppings in late August, Intel will have a backlog of older chips to get rid of first...

Mr. Smith - after chatting with Gigabyte, you may still be in luck. My DS3 Rev 1.0 has no official support for 1333mhz FSB CPUs, but the technical support staff said that it may be able, but they can't guarantee the overclock...
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24-07-07, 03:29 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
More digging reveals mid-Aug for G0's...

This Intel® Core™2 Quad Processor Q6600 link might be of use to you people interested.

If anyone has any updates please feel free to keep me/us posted.

Prosser - the commando supports 1333fsb with a bios update. My concern is I purchase the e6850 and I slap it in and nothing happens...

No case to RMA it either...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24-07-07, 03:33 PM
prosser13 prosser13 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 309
What I'm saying is that if the board can overclock to 1333mhz FSB (effective), then its likely it can support the processors.

Why not just buy a Celeron for £15 off eBay and sell it on/keep it for backup?
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24-07-07, 05:41 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
I hear you man.

Well, this mobo runs a high fsb... 1700 here

I dono...
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:37 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.