Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-07-07, 11:56 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
OC3D Review: Asus P5K vs Asus P5K3 Benchmarks (DDR2 vs DDR3)

"After reviewing the Asus P5K DDR2 based motherboard just over a month ago, we were left wondering how the DDR3 based P5K3 would compare. Today we're back with both boards in a head to head DDR2 vs DDR3 battle!"



Linkage

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 16-07-07, 12:02 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
looks the same as the ddr vs ddr2 when it came out too me...

Nice job jim.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 16-07-07, 01:58 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
looks the same as the ddr vs ddr2 when it came out too me...
I wasn't into pc's back then so I don't have any experience with ddr.

Is it safe to say that ddr2 now owns ddr in terms of performance?

I'm wondering if it is simply a matter of time before ddr3 really comes on with speeds of 2ghz and 5-5-5-15 timings and puts the nail in ddr2's coffin...

Nice work btw. I for one won't be buying a new mobo/ram until nehlam by the looks of this.

I was toying with getting another 2gb kit of cellshocks in the next month. Not sure what benefit I would get with 32bit XP pro... Hmmm.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 16-07-07, 02:07 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
I wasn't into pc's back then so I don't have any experience with ddr.

Is it safe to say that ddr2 now owns ddr in terms of performance?
Yeah pretty much, tho someone at OCZ told me that a Conroe on a DDR board beat the cr@p out of a DDR2 setup. Apparently it really liked the low latencies of DDR.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'

I'm wondering if it is simply a matter of time before ddr3 really comes on with speeds of 2ghz and 5-5-5-15 timings and puts the nail in ddr2's coffin...
Deffo. Now they're tightening the timings of the DDR3 it'll soon be kicking DDR2's a$$ IMO.

I'm going to see if we can get hold of some of that Kingston 5-5-5-15 DDR3 and put it up against the 7-7-7-20 stuff and maybe some DDR2.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-07-07, 02:29 PM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
Yeah pretty much, tho someone at OCZ told me that a Conroe on a DDR board beat the cr@p out of a DDR2 setup. Apparently it really liked the low latencies of DDR.
:eh: c2d and ddr beat c2d and ddr2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
I'm going to see if we can get hold of some of that Kingston 5-5-5-15 DDR3 and put it up against the 7-7-7-20 stuff and maybe some DDR2.
Yeah those Kingston sticks look nice. Some company I haven't really heard of released some 1600mhz ddr3 the other day... CL10 though. Look
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-07-07, 02:35 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Mr. Smith'
:eh: c2d and ddr beat c2d and ddr2?
Apparently so...I wasn't quite sure whether to believe it either. I think it was running with timings of 2-2-2-something
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-07-07, 02:40 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
They must had some seriously crazy test bed for that. Rather than just the ASRock 4coredual-vsta...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:03 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.