Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D Reviews & Videos
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-07-07, 10:30 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
OC3D Review: Icy Box IB-MP301 HDD Media Player

"Looking for easy access to your MP3, video and image collections via your TV without the need for an expensive HTPC setup? Maybe Icy Box have the answer with their HDD Media Player."



Linky

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-07-07, 11:24 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Great read m8. All through the descriptions I kept stopping and thinking "hmm ageing tech.." - then getting to the end and seeing the price tag, it`s pretty decent.

I couldn`t see myself buying it to house my DVD collection, as frankly it wouldn`t fit (limiting to 500g), but I could however see myself filling it with all music, photos/pictures and maybe music videos. Even tho that`d probably only take perhaps a safe 200g.

For the price I think it`s great, not a movie thing for me tho.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-07-07, 11:32 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'

I couldn`t see myself buying it to house my DVD collection, as frankly it wouldn`t fit (limiting to 500g), but I could however see myself filling it with all music, photos/pictures and maybe music videos. Even tho that`d probably only take perhaps a safe 200g.
Yeah agreed. In all honesty I can see it appealing more to people who download things like episodes of Lost, 24, Simpsons etc off the net (note: I don't condone this!) and just want to be able to watch it on a big screen without faffing around burning it to disks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 09-08-07, 09:34 AM
Barnie Barnie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
one thing i will say is the manual is pretty poor, offers no problem solutions
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 09-08-07, 09:43 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Barnie'
one thing i will say is the manual is pretty poor, offers no problem solutions
Hi Barnie, What problems are you having? I'll try and give you a hand as I was the one who wrote the review. If not, we also have a supported Icy Box forum here: http://forum.overclock3d.net/forumdisplay.php?f=148
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 09-08-07, 02:42 PM
Xebedie Xebedie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Hi There,

I wonder if, as the reviewer, you would be so good as to tell us what the solution was that Raidsonic provided you with to format a HDD in the unit.

I have formatted a 500g drive using mac OSX, which works ok except for the fact that the unit only recognizes 3000 of the media items stored on it.

When I try to format it using a windows XP machine, the unit doesn't recognize the disk at all.

I have tried to contact Raidsonic myself, but after three days they have not responded.

Yours

Xebedie
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 09-08-07, 02:46 PM
Barnie Barnie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
hi as ive just done it i may be able to help

raidsonic were very quick in there reply to me

right some issues i had was, you have to use the fat32 system to format to which i didnt first time and it wont read

second was the jumpers were in the incorrect position but all good now
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 09-08-07, 02:57 PM
Xebedie Xebedie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
ok, great.

What's the best way to format in fat32 in XPSP2.. (i'm a mac person!)

XP only seems to give the option to format in NTFS (or whatever it is)...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 09-08-07, 04:18 PM
Barnie Barnie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
pass im not up on macs sorry
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 10-08-07, 07:45 AM
Xebedie Xebedie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Hi Barney,

Ok, so I formatted the HDD for FAT32 on a PC... but I get the SAME PROBLEM... which is that the unit only recognizes the first 3000 media items. Everyone seems stumped on this... any thoughts anyone?

Xeb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:49 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.