Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Sound Cards & Speakers
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-06-07, 09:51 PM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
No sound at all on my new rig. Help please

Hi guys!

Just run my new rig today. I have a X-Fi with front panel, but I have no sound at all. I treid e'rythings but doesn't see any light in it. Ah I run Windows Vista at a moment, the drive it for Visat anyway. Any idea please help me out. Thanks much.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-06-07, 09:55 PM
Raging Raging is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,760
have you tried other pci slots?

try using other slots and see if it works then.
__________________




Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-06-07, 09:56 PM
flib flib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Does it actually pick up in Windows at all? Or does the device not even get detected as being in the system (you should be able to see it as a device with no drivers in the Device Manager). Also, have you tried disabling the onboard sound and removing the drivers for that, just in case Windows is try to use the onboard stuff instead of the X-FI.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-06-07, 10:03 PM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
Quote:
have you tried other pci slots?

try using other slots and see if it works then.
I did but no sign at all. Thanks anyway.

Quote:
Does it actually pick up in Windows at all? Or does the device not even get detected as being in the system (you should be able to see it as a device with no drivers in the Device Manager). Also, have you tried disabling the onboard sound and removing the drivers for that, just in case Windows is try to use the onboard stuff instead of the X-FI.
E'rythings ok I disable onboard sound already, X-Fi drive working properly.

I tried to config the X-Fi drive aswell but no luck at all.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-07-07, 10:56 AM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
I got it guys, thanks for your help
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-07-07, 10:59 AM
flib flib is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 55
Glad it was resolved May I ask what the problem was in the end?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-07-07, 11:10 AM
Thanh55 Thanh55 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 369
I uninstall the drive, switched to onboard sound it work. re install X-Fi drive and disable onboard sound, config the X-fi console as I did before and it just worked. I'm so lucky, my be the vista and the new drive of X-Fi not working properly at the first time I installed.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-07-07, 01:27 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Nice to see you've got it sorted mate...nothing more frustrating than gear that decides not to work for whatever reason
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-07-07, 02:02 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
.. or u could have been in an utter n00b situation where I was before - in that I forgot to plug the small power connectors into the Drive front panel >.<
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:12 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.