Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-06-07, 09:02 PM
dj_nick88@msn.om dj_nick88@msn.om is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
help!!! computer keeps rebooting then starting with recovered from system error

i chose to install a new graphocs card to replace my intergrated one and decided on thwe x1650 512agp ati sapphire it runs swell but restarts randomly fopor no ereason niormaly when playing games or instlling some games

windows media centre

1 gig of ram

multi processorIntel Pentium 4 524, 3066 MHz (23 x 133)

Radeon X1650 Series (512 M

this

only has occured when installing the new graphocs card i have $50 watt or power and it requires bout that much im thinking its not got enough power but im not an expert so if anybody has any ideas that would really help[ me out thanxxx!!!!!!!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-06-07, 11:46 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
I'd be strongly suggesting that you look at your power supply. What is the power supply (make)? You thoroughly cleaned out the integrated drivers before installing your ATI's ones I take it? You've disabled the integrated graphics in your BIOS?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-06-07, 11:49 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Agreed... Sounds exactly like what happened to me a couple of years ago when I slapped an FX 5900 Ultra on my 350W PSU... It froze at a certain point in Doom 3 every time. Wasn't powerful enough as well as being a no name brand
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 26-06-07, 12:28 AM
dj_nick88@msn.om dj_nick88@msn.om is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
i looked on a website and it said most newer versions of computers automtically disable the intergrated card when a new one is installed i think illhave check my power supply are powersupplies hard to install as im a bit of a novice.. cheers for reply eith a sol;ution very helpful guys
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 26-06-07, 08:03 AM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Na not too hard.

If you just take a look inside and follow where all the power leads go from the current power supply and what connectors go where then all your doing is replacing the old with the new.
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 26-06-07, 12:51 PM
dj_nick88@msn.om dj_nick88@msn.om is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 9
thanx ill have to open up the back of my base unit and check ill keep yall posted if all goes well i havnt looked at the power supply make i will do though i know its 450 but i think my graphics card uses most that so i think it is the power supply well ill get some sort of psu the right one though and try that out hopefully all will be well lol chers guys again!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-06-07, 10:00 PM
Pat123 Pat123 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Newcastle-upon-Tyne (Uni), Darlington (Home)
Posts: 1,767
Its not so much about the Watts.. (they help obv) but its the amount of power the PSU actually gives to the components and how stable the rails are.. and unfortunately these no name psu are often cheaply made making them pretty useless when coupled with anything that requires power..
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 01:47 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.