Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-06-07, 07:50 AM
s.t.s s.t.s is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
About to build my first system, few basic starter questions if I may

Hi guys ... great forum ... I am learning lots ... just a few basic questions I can't seem to get the answer to/work out.

Will a full size ATX case accept a mATX mobo without any modification? Pretty sure they do, would just like some clarification from an 'old hand'

Will one 8cm case fan do in a low spec system for now.

Recommend me a cheapish (sub £20 if poss) (reasonably quiet too but no need for ultimate silence) 775 heatsink and fan please (Sycthe Samurai perhaps?) ... I have read and read about them but I am just not getting my head around them and lots of threads suggest that the manufacturers quoted figures tend to be a bit optomistic.

Thanks in advance

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-06-07, 08:03 AM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
1)yes a m-atx will fit in a full atx case

2)Depends on the components you are going to use

3)used one of those in a freinds pc its a good hsf

hope this helps "a bit"
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-06-07, 08:05 AM
robump robump is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 263
Arctic freezer 7's seem pretty popular, avent used one but the reviews are good.

Rob
__________________


Its amazing what you can create on photoshop!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-06-07, 08:09 AM
s.t.s s.t.s is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Thanks for the quick reply ... that has eased my mind and off to order my case and mobo now.

I will be using onboard sound and graphis (Abit F-190-HD) and a P4 3.2 that I have lying around and one hdd for now and one odd. I can't see that generating too much heat or restricting air flow.

I will check out the details of the Artic 7's - thanks
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-06-07, 08:10 AM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
i would still get a case with 120mm fans as a p4 will still make allot of heat whitch would build up
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-06-07, 08:14 AM
robump robump is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 263
I would also suggest acase with 120mm fans in it, have you got a price range and we can make some suggestions.

Rob
__________________


Its amazing what you can create on photoshop!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-06-07, 08:45 AM
s.t.s s.t.s is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Well I am building a htpc ... but the case I want is unlikely to be available for a couple of months (OrigenAE S10/4) so I was going for the cheapest desktop atx case with psu I could find for now to get me going and will buy an E4400 or equivalent when I get the final case. I guess a 120 mm fan wont break the bank and can always go into the nicer case when i get it too, schtye or noctua seem to be fans to get ... right?

Will also be using a spare Samsung HDD and old DVD drive that is spare as well.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-06-07, 08:50 AM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
I wouldn't spend that much on a fan as i'm not sure if the HTPC case you're getting fits 120mm fans. I would advise having at least two fans on your case, one inlet and one outlet as you're using air cooling, and therefore need a fresh supply of cool air, while extracting all the warm air.
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-06-07, 09:02 AM
robump robump is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 263
I built a htpc, and used a elonex artisan case with motherboard already fitted, cant support core 2 duo 15 chipset i think, but you dont really need it unless you are going to be encoding video, and then i just sendit o my main pc over gigabit ethenet.

Nice casee though.

Rob
__________________


Its amazing what you can create on photoshop!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19-06-07, 09:03 AM
s.t.s s.t.s is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='llwyd'
I wouldn't spend that much on a fan as i'm not sure if the HTPC case you're getting fits 120mm fans. I would advise having at least two fans on your case, one inlet and one outlet as you're using air cooling, and therefore need a fresh supply of cool air, while extracting all the warm air.
Hadn't thought about that ... I think the 14 may take a 120 but perhaps safest to go for 2 80s as you say.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:00 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.