Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Off Topic > Off Topic Chat
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 16-06-07, 11:56 AM
Azreil_2 Azreil_2 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 417
Htpc

I'm currently planning to build a new rig around September-December.

However in the mean time do you think its worth considering using the

parts from my current rig to build a HTPC? With few additional parts?

Any information on this would be greatly appreciated

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-06-07, 05:25 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Azreil_2'
I'm currently planning to build a new rig around September-December.

However in the mean time do you think its worth considering using the

parts from my current rig to build a HTPC? With few additional parts?

Any information on this would be greatly appreciated
it could be worth it, i'm current running mce 2005 on a athlon 2ghz with 512mb ram, it runs pretty well, but i think it could do with some more ram.

But to answer your question, mce 2005 would certainly run on it.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-06-07, 06:31 PM
Azreil_2 Azreil_2 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 417
Thanks, i think ill look into it abit more
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-06-07, 06:32 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Sorry too nick ya thread. But is there a media centre distro of linux anywhere that anyone knows of?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-06-07, 06:38 PM
equk's Avatar
equk equk is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Southwest England
Posts: 2,578
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Sorry too nick ya thread. But is there a media centre distro of linux anywhere that anyone knows of?
There is a distro called LinuxMCE which is basically ubuntu + mythTV.

I tried mythtv with the latest ver of ubuntu on my htpc and the playback was a bit slow which made watching tv a bit pointless, altho that's only because I have a ATI GPU and the drivers don't officially support it

I am using MediaPortal instead now which is free and runs on windows.

I tried windows MCE 2005 and it was crashing too much
__________________

i5-2500K @ 4.8Ghz | 8G DDR3 | P8Z68-V GEN3 | Archlinux | Win7
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-06-07, 06:59 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
something worth mentioning, make sure you check you hardware is compatible with mce, graphics card is the main one.

I was going to use linuxMCE untill i watched the demo video and seen it was sooo anti microsoft, even in silly ways. Im all for comparisons mind you, but that video just got on my nerves. still think the GUI is ugly too. But thats just my opinion.
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:26 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.