Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-12-06, 02:10 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
Far Cry 64bit on 32bit Windows

Been playing around with the the 32bit conversion of Far Cry 64bit.

Some clever bod has converted the 64bit to run in 32bit Windows.

get it over here http://farcry.filefront.com/file/FC_...nversion;50861.

Just download it, install it over the top of FC 1.33 and play

The author warns about performance hits, but as yet I haven't suffered any at 1280x1024 with everything ramped up. If anything it's improved it.

__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-12-06, 02:47 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Sorry am i missing somthing here.

Surely the whole point of 64bit farcry was to play it on 64bit machines, if you wanted to play on 32bit use the 32bit version?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-12-06, 02:55 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
It brings the 64bit content to the 32 bit version. More eye candy.

Check out some screenies of the 32bit v 64bit. I'd post some myself but I cleaned out my Photobucket the other day.

There is a big difference in the rock, ground and interior textures.
__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-12-06, 02:59 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Ahh i see. Makes sence now.

Did you need a 64bit OS to run it or just hardware?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 30-12-06, 03:10 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
For the original 64bit Far Cry you needed WinXP Pro64, but I'm running it on XP Home with the patch installed.

Not exactly sure about the hardware side of it though, I'm on an AMD64/3000. Not heard of anyone running on a 32bit CPU as yet.
__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-12-06, 03:14 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Excellent idea.

May sound like an impossible task to some, but if u look at the instruction set it can be done """simply""".

I wouldn`t personally have the patience, so I take my hat off.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-01-07, 06:37 PM
Sticky Mick Sticky Mick is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 391
Couple of screenies of the game running with the 64bit patch installed.

These are taken from one of the mods called Matto_4.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...FarCry0002.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v4...FarCry0003.jpg
__________________
If Salvador Dali had a PC, would it have a surreal port?

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:32 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.