Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 11-12-06, 09:48 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Page file.

Hello dudeys!

I am here to ask a simple question. Is it good to have the page file on the same Drive as games?

I hvae oblivion and the page file all on the same drive I was wondering if the stuttering I get it because of that?

DMA5 is what my drive is running..

Thanks guys!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-12-06, 09:37 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Bump ...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-12-06, 11:32 AM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
The best thing is to have the paging file on a dedicated hard drive, but who can do that. If you run out of memory, and it starts paging, while playing a game you are going to get stuttering no matter what drive it is on. How much RAM do you have?
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-12-06, 11:42 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
If you have a RAID array then putting the paging file on there increases performance.

However if not and you have a decent HDD then it's not going to make a huge amount of real-life difference
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-12-06, 11:44 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Ideal situation is to have 2 drives, one for/with the OS (with pagefile), and one for u`r gaming. That`s 2 drives, not just 2 partitions.

The logic behind it is that whilst u`r playing u`r game, or doing u`r media/utility thing if u like, u`r OS is working away in the background, with such matters including the pagefile. Physically, if the pc happens to have to access the pagefile whilst u`r game is loading gfx and the like, u`r OS will do both at the same time. i.e. read something for the game/util, then read something for the OS - in between each action, the drive heads have to seek back and fore between the two. If they`re on seperate drives, there is less head movement, and hence quicker.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nagaru'
The best thing is to have the paging file on a dedicated hard drive, but who can do that. If you run out of memory, and it starts paging, while playing a game you are going to get stuttering no matter what drive it is on. How much RAM do you have?
Arguably, if u`r pc is SATA based and u have one drive. The inclusion of an IDE drive just for the OS would help you out (although if u spend alot of time doing desktop stuff, u may`nt like it). It`s very debateable. Of course adding a 2nd SATA would be ideal. If u got more than 2 SATA connections on the pc, u can OS install and setup raid if u chose. But raid performance will be impaired, even though it`s blisteringly fast anyway, by having the OS (pagefile) and game section on the same raid. If u think of u`r raid as 1 drive, effectively, that`s where the logic lies. Even tho it`ll be fast, it could be faster - if u like.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-06, 02:59 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
I have 3 harddrives. And 1Gb of ram..

I have the dirst drive as windows the second (fastest) as games and page file... and the third just for storage.

Does it matter which one I have it on then?

First Drive = DMA 4 66Mhz

Games drive = DMA 5 100Mhz

last drive = DMA 3 (Doesn't want to run at full speed) Maybe the cable.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-06, 03:19 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Id get another GB of ram for oblivion tbh...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-06, 03:43 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Ham'
Id get another GB of ram for oblivion tbh...
Definately !

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toxcity
I have 3 harddrives. And 1Gb of ram..

I have the dirst drive as windows the second (fastest) as games and page file... and the third just for storage.

Does it matter which one I have it on then?

First Drive = DMA 4 66Mhz

Games drive = DMA 5 100Mhz

last drive = DMA 3 (Doesn't want to run at full speed) Maybe the cable.
How are these drives connected m8y ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:33 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.