Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 25-11-06, 02:55 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Help please

I've just near enough finished my mates pc, problem is the psu isnt exactly a good in terms of connectors but its still rated at 400w. I have used up all the connectors (not many...the main motherboard power - both of them, 1 for the dvd rom, 1 for the cd-rw, 1 for the hdd and 1 for the system fan - one out of 2) now I'm wondering, will it be possible to have another system fan, the graphics card and the hdd running off the same cable by means of split offs (if you get me ) or should i try to share the load by attaching one of the split offs onto one of the cables going to the dvd rom and 1 for the previous?

Atm ive got it 1 cable feeding 2 optical drives, both fans and going to the power button, in series

the other 4 pin molex going to gfx card and hdd in series

i only have 2 4 pin molex connectors!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-11-06, 02:57 PM
llwyd llwyd is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 3,726
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
I've just near enough finished my mates pc, problem is the psu isnt exactly a good make but its still rated at 400w. I have used up all the connectors (not many...the main motherboard power - both of them, 1 for the dvd rom, 1 for the cd-rw, 1 for the hdd and 1 for the system fan - one out of 2) now I'm wondering, will it be possible to have another system fan, the graphics card and the hdd running off the same cable by means of split offs (if you get me ) or should i try to share the load by attaching one of the split offs onto one of the cables going to the dvd rom and 1 for the previous?
it doesnt make any difference unless its different rails, load is load. exactly what make and model is it?
__________________
Just ate 5 Cadbury's Double Deckers in 30 minutes

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-11-06, 03:03 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Its a CTK LC-C400ATX Switching power supply (400w)

this to be exact http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/CTK-Atx-Psu-40...mZ300041777886
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-11-06, 03:11 PM
Raging Raging is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: London
Posts: 1,760
wow that is uber freakin cheap!,i would not trust a psu that cheap to even run one cd drive
__________________




Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-11-06, 03:17 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
well its from my old pc, a computer shop installed it after a mishap with the last one and charged me £40 for the labour and the psu. I have no idea how much it was at the time (bout 1 year ago). It ran my old pc flawlessly (sempron 2600, both drives im using now, the same hdd and gfx card) in fact the only thing ive changed in this one is: 2 fans, 3000+ amd 64 & hs and a different mobo and ive got rid of the floppy..

is it safe to run?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-11-06, 10:00 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrapoc

Atm ive got it 1 cable feeding 2 optical drives, both fans and going to the power button, in series

the other 4 pin molex going to gfx card and hdd in series

i only have 2 4 pin molex connectors!
To only have 2 4 pin molex connectors, they must boast a fair feed off them - I`d expect some 300/350w psus to have what u`r describing, but not a 400w tbh.

The opticals line of molex should come to something in the region of 55/65w, manufacturer dependent.

If they can be handled by that line, which u`d have to test burning and reading off the dvd - both actions of which I think would draw the most power - as long as u`r gfxcard is ok with 30/35w (55/65 - 25/30 for hdd *typical*) u might be ok.

Wouldn`t attempt to push it much tho.

I`ve managed to total an optical drive and a hdd`s filesystem by using a 350w hiper (good psu for me) with the same 2 molex lines on a K7 mobo (athlon 1200 something) with 6 harddrives and a single dvd drive. Switched the knackered dvd for a cdrw and took 1 drive out, and it ~seemed~ to be ok. System had around 6 fans in it too along with 2 or 3 pci cards (including an ata card) and a standard gf2 mx.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-11-06, 10:59 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
Dude.

Thats gonna be a terrible suply. Get a new one asap.

Might be flogging my hiper type-r 480w soon....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25-11-06, 11:02 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
So even if it did run my last pc it wouldnt be worth risking this 1? I need the cheapest psu to do the job as i dont want to be losing money on my build but obviously i dont want it blowing up! what do you recommend? Gimme a model/make/wattage and ill browse ebay for a cheap price!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25-11-06, 11:08 PM
mVp24 mVp24 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,941
I use this PSU, cheap and good. Supposedly, they used to make ANtec PSUs.

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...8919&CatId=331
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25-11-06, 11:13 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
How much are you looking to spend and exactly what spec system are you powering?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.