Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-11-06, 08:26 AM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
I can't get very far

So far I have been able to get to 281 fsb...then no boot. I raised the vcore to up bit by bit until i reached 1.4v, but I was still getting random errors and did not get as far as the xp load screen, I was getting corrupt file errors (nfts file?) and it would freeze on the safe mode/normal mode screen. Surely I don't need even higher voltage?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-11-06, 08:38 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
please tell me you've locked your PCI express frequency or kept it under 120 max (I've locked mine at 100). Not doing so can cause your SATA drives to lose connection or cause data corruption. Also keep your PCI clock sync mode locked at 33.33Mhz to prevent the PCI bus floating with your FSB. You'll find both under 'advanced settings' in your bios
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-11-06, 08:40 AM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
when you start just set a very low memory divider to find out how far your cpu can go, then work on the memory
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-11-06, 08:42 AM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
All i have touched in bios is the voltage for the cpu, i changed the fsb using the asus tool thingy

just locked pci-e and pci to ur settings, now what? keep it simple for teh n00b
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 19-11-06, 09:29 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
What BIOS version are you running, I'm using 0711 (the latest, as mrapoc informs me is 0804 )

BIOS

1. Disable ‘AI Tuning’ and set it to manual

2. Set PCI Express (PCIe) frequency @100Mhz

3. Set PCI frequency @33Mhz

4. Disable ‘spread spectrum’

5. Disable Q-Fan

6. Disable ‘Max CPUID limit

7. Disable ‘C1E’

8. Disable Intel Speedstep

9. Disable any other thing you don’t use

10. Do not enable any speed enhancements you see

The purpose here is to lighten up duties placed on the chipset

Memory Adjustments

Set ‘DRAM Frequency’ to DDR2-533 @266Mhz FSB (1FSB:1RAM operation)

As you increase the FSB, the RAM will follow in the pattern of 1:1 shown in BIOS.

1. Set ‘DRAM Timing’ to manual or disable SPD

2. In BIOS you will see 4 separate timing digits, change them to the ones specified on your RAM

e.g. 4-4-4-12

CAS# Latency (tCL)

RAS# to CAS# Delay (tRCD)

RAS# Precharge (tRP)

RAS# Precharge Delay or Active to Precharge (tRAS)

When 1FSB:1RAM is overclocked above the rated frequency of your RAM use the following values

Timing: 5-5-5-15

vDIMM: 2.2V

e.g. DDR2-667 4-4-4-12 1.9V operating at ~400Mhz will need to be set to 5-5-5-15 2.2V

3. Leave the rest of other timings either at ‘Auto’ or at their default values

Voltage

1. Set DRAM/DIMM Voltage (vDIMM) to 2.1V or 2.2V if specified by RAM (+0.3V or +0.4V)

2. Set NB Voltage to 1.55V

3. Set FSB Voltage (vFS to 1.40V

4. Increase SB Voltage (vICH) by lowest possible increments available on your motherboard

5. Set CPU Voltage (vCore) - E6600=1.400V

Frequency Control

First attempt:

1. Set CPU Host Clock/Frequency (FS to 333Mhz

2. Set CPU Clock Ratio or Multiplier to the default value for your processor which is E6600-> 333x9=2997

3. Save settings and reboot

Further attempts:

1. Up even more FSB by 5Mhz or 2Mhz increments

2. Calculate your final clockspeed

3. Up even more vCore if needed by 0.025V increments

Once you've done that you need to check for stability - Prime and Memtest

*The higher the final clock speed, the lower the temperature for CPU has to be to maintain stability

*vCore should not fluctuate by more than +/- 0.100V. If it does, improve cooling on MOSFETs

* If an attempt fails and the computer doesn’t boot, hold down ‘Insert’ key when booting to restore default settings in BIOS

Final

- Lower vCore by one notch at a time until lowest possible while maintaining the same stability

- Do the same for vMCH, vFSB, vICH after the above step is completed

- (Optional) Pull off a PCMark and/or SuperPi32M score and compare to stock to gauge performance increase
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 19-11-06, 09:29 AM
Pyr0 Pyr0 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 845
[edit] - too slow PV5150 beat me to it with a much better and extended version

ps. the latest official bios is 0804

ftp://ftp.asus.com/pub/ASUS/mb/socke...uxe%20Wifi-AP/

there is also a beta 0903 floating around

i flashed to it the other day and it seems fine to me
__________________
Intel i7 950

Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R

3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws PC3-12800

AMD HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC

Asus Xonar DX

Crucial C300, Vertex1, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's

Corsair AX850

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 19-11-06, 09:50 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Yeah mate mrapoc told me there was a later bios...edited post^^
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19-11-06, 11:51 AM
Mr. Smith's Avatar
Mr. Smith Mr. Smith is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Reading
Posts: 4,063
mrapoc, hows the clocking going? I just thought this guide may be of some use; it has pictures etc to keep it simple whilst remaining pretty comprehensive.

Let us know how you get on
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 19-11-06, 03:40 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,669
thanks for that, well hopefully sometime pv (now talking to me on msn) will be able to get me onto the basic overclock settings (as safe as going past the manufacterers stated speeds goes)
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:27 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.