Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 14-11-06, 12:33 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Looks like I might be going for Home Premium. Honestly who needs to pay a cr@p load extra just for..

Protect against hardware failure

with advanced business backup features

Business networking and Remote Desktop

for easier connectivity

Better protect your data

against loss or theft with Windows BitLocker™ Drive Encryption

TBH I'll just keep the stuff I dont want to loose on my USB hard disk and lock it in a cupboard.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 14-11-06, 01:01 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Hmm I really want Premium but I may also get Home edition...if it allows re-installation.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 14-11-06, 06:43 PM
simon d simon d is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 61
I will be going for Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 14-11-06, 07:03 PM
Nulla Pax Nulla Pax is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 37
Looking at it I would say Home Premium for me, but as I will be waiting at least a year before even considering buying Vista then my choice may change as I hear/read of peoples experiences.

I am quite intrigued by "Windows Vista Starter" as mentioned at the bottom of that page.

I wonder what that contains etc
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 14-11-06, 09:52 PM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
I think I will be getting Home Premium Aswell.

Will microsoft not be doing some kind of upgrade system, where you buy a "upgrade disk" and use your current cd key which you use for windows xp and its just upgraded to vista and no longer works with xp.

This would mean they could sell Vista for cheaper as all you are doing is upgrading your license to the lastest product.

Will they do anything like this...
__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 14-11-06, 09:56 PM
Ares210 Ares210 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 597
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyper
I think I will be getting Home Premium Aswell.

Will microsoft not be doing some kind of upgrade system, where you buy a "upgrade disk" and use your current cd key which you use for windows xp and its just upgraded to vista and no longer works with xp.

This would mean they could sell Vista for cheaper as all you are doing is upgrading your license to the lastest product.

Will they do anything like this...
"Suggested retail price for full package product, $239.00 USD. Suggested upgrade retail price, $159.00 USD."

Taken from the bottom of the Home Premium description on there sight so i guess that means there doing some kind of upgrade discount.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 14-11-06, 09:59 PM
Hyper Hyper is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2,246
If thats the case I will definatly be upgrading to Vista
__________________
2500K @ 4GHZ - P8Z68-V - Sapphire 6950 2GB

8GB DDR3 - M4 64GB SSD - Corsair HX520W - Dell 24"

Logitech G5 - Logitech Z-5500 - Sennheisser HD555

Macbook Pro 13" 2011, 4GB DDR3, M4 128GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 15-11-06, 02:38 AM
DragonMaster DragonMaster is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 29
Going for Home Premium if I ever get Vista! No need for every backup features of Ultimate, we all disable them in XP anyways.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 15-11-06, 05:23 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Hyper'
If thats the case I will definatly be upgrading to Vista
Now would be a good time to install that unopened copy of MCE on my machine

I doubt they'd let me upgrade from Windows 2003 to Vista otherwise
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 15-11-06, 05:44 AM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by XMS
Now would be a good time to install that unopened copy of MCE on my machine

I doubt they'd let me upgrade from Windows 2003 to Vista otherwise
Why? they don't check to see whether you have it installed, you just need to insert your windows disk at the beginning of the upgrade...
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:37 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.