Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > OS & Apps
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 12-11-06, 08:31 AM
outrunner outrunner is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 298
Vista Home Premium cheap

If anybody doesn't want to shell out £200+ for Vista when it's released in January next year, then all you have to do is purchase a copy of MCE and you get an upgrade to Vista for free.

Details are here

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-11-06, 08:56 AM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
I've been keeping my eye on that. If everything is as it appears then I'll do the MCE -> Home Premium upgrade. But first I'd like a few more details on the OEM license... as I understand at this point, it you can upgrade pretty much everything except the mobo and have it still considered the same system. Once I see that in writing, I'll put the order in that day

One part I found interesting was:

Quote:
Only systems running Microsoft Windows XP that meet Windows Vista system requirements qualify for the Express Upgrade.
So you're only eligible for the upgrade if your computer meets the specs? How are they going to check, make you send in a System Information printout with your upgrade coupon? Must be because they don't want people returning it because it wouldn't install
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-06, 08:57 AM
Null Null is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by outrunner
If anybody doesn't want to shell out £200+ for Vista when it's released in January next year, then all you have to do is purchase a copy of MCE and you get an upgrade to Vista for free.

Details are here
If it ain't Windows Vista Ultimate, it ain't squat.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-06, 09:57 AM
macgamesrule macgamesrule is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 357
Looking around MS's site I came across this:

Quote:

A copy of Windows Vista can go into RFM under two scenarios. First, if any of the following events occurs for the given license type:

• Retail user (or corporate user with MAK):

– Failure to activate within the grace period (i.e., 30 days after installation)

– Failure to renew activation within three days of a major hardware replacement

• OEM user (or corporate user with OEM-sourced activated image, i.e. non-volume license bits):

– Failure to activate within three days of switch to non-OEM motherboard
RFM = reduced functionality mode, i.e. not activated. So it looks like retail versions will need to reactivate for any major hardware upgrades, while OEM users will need to reactivate for motherboard replacement only, which IIRC is only allowed in case of original motherboard failure, and limited to one reactivation.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-06, 06:44 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
AFAIK, You can upgrade MCE to either Vista Ultimate or Home Premium, and can upgrade XP Pro to Vista Business or Ultimate.

maybe not :\.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-11-06, 06:51 PM
mVp24 mVp24 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,941
IMO, all these multiple versions and upgrade maps are a waste. IMO, it's all about Vista Ultimate WHich I need to wait 5 days for :[
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-11-06, 07:08 PM
mrapoc mrapoc is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Shropshire
Posts: 5,671
Will volume licensing be something to consider for oc3d? I would deffo do that if it works out cheaper
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-11-06, 07:10 PM
mVp24 mVp24 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,941
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='mrapoc'
Will volume licensing be something to consider for oc3d? I would deffo do that if it works out cheaper
I think there was some talk about it between XMS, Kemp, and Frag.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-11-06, 07:21 PM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
a volume license is a stupidly large amount of money, it only really becomes genuinely money saving if you have 2000 machines
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-11-06, 07:42 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
MSDN tbh .
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:58 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.