Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Software Section > Games
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 30-10-06, 09:14 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
BF2142 Problem

When i click the install link for the demo it loads then flashes a green screen (install screen) then the install shuts down. Why is this happening and what can i do to fix it?

__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 30-10-06, 09:30 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
What OS are you running?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 30-10-06, 09:38 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
I'm running XP Pro SP2. I have just updated my framework and directx9.

EDIT:I think the problem is when i got to Add/Remove Programs Battlefield 2142 is still in there from when i installed it before. I cant remove it though. It says Setup.exe has encountered a problem and stops. How can i uninstall this or just get rid of this? I searched the computer and it is not on my computer its only in add/remove programs.
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 30-10-06, 11:42 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
Does anyone know how i can get Battlefield 2142 out of the add/remove programs? When i click remove it comes up with a box that says "setup.exe has encountered a problem." I have tried in safe mode and still didnt work. What can i do?
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-11-06, 03:24 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
Bump* I really want to play any ideas?
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-11-06, 03:25 PM
MikeEnIke MikeEnIke is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,488
What do you mean you want to play? You are trying to uninstall it.
__________________
Intel C2D e6600 @ 3.6Ghz

G.Skill DDR2-800

Abit FP-IN9

BFG 8800GTS 630/1000

Seagate 360GB and 160GB SATA II 7200 RPM

Cooler Master iGreen 500w Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-11-06, 03:38 PM
Pyr0 Pyr0 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 845
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
What do you mean you want to play? You are trying to uninstall it.
he needs to remove all traces of it before trying to reinstall tho

Ty07allstar, (i know it can be a pain in the ass, but...) have you tried searching through the registry to remove traces of it?
__________________
Intel i7 950

Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R

3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws PC3-12800

AMD HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC

Asus Xonar DX

Crucial C300, Vertex1, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's

Corsair AX850

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-11-06, 03:51 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pyr0
he needs to remove all traces of it before trying to reinstall tho

Ty07allstar, (i know it can be a pain in the ass, but...) have you tried searching through the registry to remove traces of it?
Yes i have. When i click the setup it flashes the install screen then it closes.
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-11-06, 03:56 PM
Pyr0 Pyr0 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 845
if all traces are removed from the registry, there wouldn't be an entry in the add/remove programs

i'm trying to remember an app that i had a while ago that logs all changes made when something's installed....

if i can remember it, i'll install 2142 to see if there are any stray files put in system folders and what changes are made to the registry etc.
__________________
Intel i7 950

Gigabyte EX58A-UD3R

3x4GB GSkill Ripjaws PC3-12800

AMD HD 6970 2GB & Dell 3007WFP-HC

Asus Xonar DX

Crucial C300, Vertex1, Velociraptor & Sammy F3's

Corsair AX850

Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1



Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-11-06, 03:56 PM
Ty07allstar Ty07allstar is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 787
There is. Where should i go in the registry to try to remove all traces of it? I wen to the software section in hkey_current_user.
__________________
Processor: AMD Phenom II x6 1075t

Memory: G.skill 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Hard Drive: Western Digital 250GB

Video Card: EVGA GTX 460 Superclocked

Case: Coolermaster Storm Scout

Monitor: ASUS 24" HD

Sound Card: Auzentech X-Plosion

Speakers/Headphones: Logitech z-5500's and Creative Fatal1ty's

Keyboard: Logitech G15

Mouse: Logitech G5

Mouse Surface: SteelSeries QCK Heavy

Operating System: Windows 7 64-bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.