Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 01-11-06, 10:54 AM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
Intel D 805 and DFI 875p-t motherboard

Is it possible to use the CPU Intel D 805 2.66GHz in my Lanparty 875p-t motherboard?

If it can will I see much difference over my Intel Pentium 4 540J 3.2 GHz?

I'm hoping to over clock the Intel D 805 2.66GHz to about 3.4GHz.

Thanks

zinc

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 01-11-06, 11:19 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Dya know I'm not sure just how much difference you would see with a P4 D @ 3.4GHz and a P4 @ 3.4Ghz

But having said that I'm pretty sure the 875 does not support dual core
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01-11-06, 11:28 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
No, I don't think you'll get a Dual Core chip on that board. I don't think they are even releasing new BIOS's for it now are they?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01-11-06, 11:42 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='XMS'
No, I don't think you'll get a Dual Core chip on that board. I don't think they are even releasing new BIOS's for it now are they?
Plus not sure they can physically support it
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01-11-06, 12:25 PM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
What a shame I like this board.

What do you think about the Asus P5VDC-X will it do and is it any good?

Its only cheap and might be a good start.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01-11-06, 12:27 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I wouldn't bother changing that awesome board just for a P4 D

If you're gonna change it then get a Core2Duo and an abit AW9D Max

If not then overclock that P4 to t3h Max
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01-11-06, 12:55 PM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
I thought about overclocking but I've not had much success, not sure why.

I need a new PSU at the moment before trying to overclock again. I don't think this Magna 600w is up to much. My Antec Truepower 550w blow up the other day.

Motherboard DFI Lanparty 875p-t

memory OCZ 2 X 512MB PC3200 Platinum LTD Edition matched pair

Intel Pentium 4 540J 3.2 GHz Stock fan/heat-sink

Graphics MSI GeForce FX 5950 Ultra 256MB

The board was built for me to overclock but I could never get it above 205Mhz bus without locking up. I'm sure it should of done a better overclock than that.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01-11-06, 01:00 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Yeah i'd replace that PSU and then get overclocking that baby.

I had pretty much the same setup as you and managed to get my 560J up to 4.6ghz on the 875P-T
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 01-11-06, 01:02 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Is the OCZ Plat Rev 2 or Rev 1? Should say it on the labels
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 01-11-06, 01:04 PM
zinc zinc is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 55
What were you using for the CPU cooler?

I am thinking about the Artic Freezer 7 Pro, mainly because its quiet.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.