Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 25-10-06, 02:26 PM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
Am I the only one wondering what the thing on the left is? Or am I just being dumb? And actually the naked one is a GTS. Here's a pic of the GTX:


__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 25-10-06, 04:04 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
The thing that looks like a normal GPU core WC? I would think it would be some kind of cinima/HDTV chip. Like the old Rage3Ds had. *goes off too wave a knife at the dark*
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 25-10-06, 04:10 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
and produces enough heat to heat your house!
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 25-10-06, 04:10 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
I would have hoped that a card of this size and power would have an onboard physics processor.... Maybe next-gen cards will

Edit: They're also doing away with the GTX surname, it's now back to GTS and GT. So this card shown here is actually an 8800GTS, not GTX

Edit 2 @ WC: I would imagine that extra chipset on the left is to manage the extra 128bit memory interface since they've now gone from 256bit to 384bit. That's just my reconning however, thanks to NoL's advice.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 25-10-06, 04:21 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Ay could be the extra memory indeed. The card is also supposed to have full HDCP support, so an nVidia cinema chip could also be there
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 25-10-06, 04:26 PM
ai_01 ai_01 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 945
those scores are freakin awesome
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25-10-06, 05:05 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
BTW guys - a lot of the high-end PSU's already have 4xPCI-E connectors

Would be nice if GPU makers put some consideration into power consumption...
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28-10-06, 03:18 PM
ionicle ionicle is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Bridlington, East Yorkshire, UK
Posts: 3,237
my room is cold with a X2 3800+ and a X850XTPE ....i think this might do-away with the need for radeator's ....hopefully....asmuch as i hate in-efficient cards, this does have advantages...good score's and a toasty warm room in one!

EDIT:

look what i found some DX10 games, taken from here:

http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/show...40&postcount=1





Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 29-10-06, 03:50 AM
mVp24 mVp24 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,941
MY GOD. I think I just soiled my pants....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 29-10-06, 01:55 PM
glocktodahead glocktodahead is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 1,368
mmmm sexiness
__________________


Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.