Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 12-10-06, 01:09 AM
jiffz jiffz is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,973
I'd stick with the venice and get a G7.

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-10-06, 01:15 AM
Ares210 Ares210 is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 597
Newegg doesn't have the G7 in stock in black
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-10-06, 03:32 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MikeEnIke'
Well it does throw in a 1MB cache as compared to 512kb which is a pretty considerable jump.
and that extra 512kb makes the cpu SLOWER when running superpi for example.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-10-06, 03:33 AM
MikeEnIke MikeEnIke is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,488
So you would not get a processor because it looks worse in a certain benchmark. The 1MB helps in almost any category.
__________________
Intel C2D e6600 @ 3.6Ghz

G.Skill DDR2-800

Abit FP-IN9

BFG 8800GTS 630/1000

Seagate 360GB and 160GB SATA II 7200 RPM

Cooler Master iGreen 500w Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-10-06, 04:09 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
not one certain benchmark, several benchmarks such as pcmark sisoftsandra and 3dmark01 for example and all results showed basicly the same.

the cache difference had no major impact whatsoever that can even remotly make it worth the extra cost for a normal homeuser.

pcmark04 differed less then 15points

superpi 32m was 34seconds faster with 512kb cache

512kb cache was also 500 points faster in 3dmark01

memory bandwidth, cpu arithmetic and cpu multimedia benchmark scored basicly the same in sisoft sandra.

googled some more and found a test showing only 50points difference in 3dmark06 so as i see it its just a waste of money to aim for 1mb cache just for the "name" of it as the benefit as a normal homeuser is more or less nothing as it is now :/
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 12-10-06, 04:29 AM
MikeEnIke MikeEnIke is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1,488
I've heard of much more performance gains in regular usage, but either way, he will still probably obtain a higher clock with the opteron, and best case scenario, he can sell his current venice for about $50.00 covering 2/3 of the costs.
__________________
Intel C2D e6600 @ 3.6Ghz

G.Skill DDR2-800

Abit FP-IN9

BFG 8800GTS 630/1000

Seagate 360GB and 160GB SATA II 7200 RPM

Cooler Master iGreen 500w Power Supply
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 12-10-06, 05:02 AM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
I personally say keep the Venice.
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 12-10-06, 08:53 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Keep the Venice and clock it up more than you have it at
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 21-11-06, 01:42 PM
smut smut is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 7
I've had an Opteron 144 for awhile and I know you'll be able to get AT least 2.7 with moderate cooling. Get a nice air cooler or watercooler and you are looking at 2.8-2.9 (and quite a few have gotten 3.0+ on watercooling with a great chip, alot took the IHS off to have better contact though)! Mine has been running at 2.9ghz for quite awhile at 1.4125 volts which is almost stock. I can run 2.75ghz at STOCK volts...those chips were great at the time and i'm sure they've only gotten better so for a cheap price you can have a great OC'er. When I got mine they were around $180 and it was worth it even then. I'm sure they're alot cheaper these days. I remember seeing a dual core X2 for less then $150 a few months ago so if I were in the market for a new chip i'd definetely go dual core!

Ive had my Opty for a bit now..it was one of the first 06 chips that made into the market place and its been running great. Alot had said back then that the 06 chips werent going to OC as good as the 05 chips but that clearly wasnt the case. The stepping on my chip was CAB2E 0602DPGW. Everyone I've ever known that has a 144 has always OCed to at LEAST 2600 with average overclocking knowledge/skills. Anyway, since the dual cores are so cheap if you can afford the little extra i'd go for one of them. It'll be a better choice in the long run. Just my 2 cents of course! Good luck...I sure do love my Opty 144!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 21-11-06, 01:54 PM
markkleb markkleb is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,377
I had a 144 and a 3700+. Maybe the 3700+ was a fluke but it was a OCing dream to me. Even though I am OC challenged (I suck at it) I was able to get my 3700 to 2910mhz and ran it at 2750mhz 24/7 on my Biostar Tforce mATX mobo. I didnt have near as good luck with the 144 so I sold it and got a 148(what a dummy, I paid $250 a couple mos ago for the 148)
__________________
Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 08:51 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.