Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Storage Mediums
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-10-06, 11:01 AM
blackrain blackrain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 125
SATA and SATA2

Just looking to get some more storage and was wondering will a SATA2 drive work fine if i hooked it up to something that supports only SATA ?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-10-06, 11:31 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='blackrain'
Just looking to get some more storage and was wondering will a SATA2 drive work fine if i hooked it up to something that supports only SATA ?
In short, yes
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-10-06, 11:32 AM
blackrain blackrain is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 125
short and sweet thank you sir
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-10-06, 11:34 AM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
NP mate.

Most drives have a dipswitch no the back of the drive for selecting SATA/SATA2. If it doesn't have a switch then it doesn't need to be worried about and will work just fine with good ol regular SATA without any user setup.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-10-06, 09:56 PM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
Sorry this maybe a bit of a hijack, but why do they even include SATA 2 as the drives are no where near needing that kind of throughput.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-10-06, 10:15 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Somebody please say SATA 300!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-10-06, 10:17 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Nagaru'
but why do they...
it sounds much better so it sells better.

not many people wants a sata150 as sata300 sounds so much faster :/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-10-06, 11:32 PM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
it sounds much better so it sells better.

not many people wants a sata150 as sata300 sounds so much faster :/
Haha, I should have thought of that, thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06-10-06, 04:02 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
np mate.

have seen discussion where one group claimed a 7200rpm sata300 harddrive was fastest and another group saying the raptor was faster even if it only had sata150.

was quite interesting to read.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06-10-06, 04:55 PM
Nagaru Nagaru is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Raven
np mate.

have seen discussion where one group claimed a 7200rpm sata300 harddrive was fastest and another group saying the raptor was faster even if it only had sata150.

was quite interesting to read.
Haha lmho that is just so sad that people could even think that, they have thrown there brains out the window.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:13 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.