Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 28-05-06, 02:26 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
The silent release of AM2...

AMD didn't seem to make too big of a fus over their new socket... And I think this largely has to do with the way Intel is owning them right now. It's tough to make a huge stink about a new launch that in no way directly competes with your competitors new lineup.

In stock AM2 proccies @ Newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubCategory=343

The AM2 Semprons interest me a little bit. I'd like to know if they clock like raped apes or what...

In stock AM2 mobos @ Newegg:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...SubCategory=22

Nothing to interesting in the mobo department yet. The Asus looks pretty feature-packed, and I like the intergrated WiFi. All new mobo's should have that so we don't have to blatantly waste a PCI slot with a WiFi card. The MSI board doesn't look too bad either. We'll have to see what DFI can come up with for AM2.

This is what I call a lackluster launch from AMD...

__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 28-05-06, 02:47 PM
blawblaw blawblaw is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 261
Yea its hard for AMD. Theyre realeasing a new socket while Intel is releasing a whole new architecture, and the bad thing is that theyre being released at the same time.

The 4000 looks nice.
__________________
A64 Opteron 146 [1.52v|338*9|3042mhz]

DFI Ultra-D

OCZ 2x1gb [2.8v|234mhz|2.5-3-2-6]
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28-05-06, 02:54 PM
NoL NoL is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,441
AM2 is nothing more than a transition. Its not a big one like A-->754/939 though, its just revising the edition to force a new product standard (ddr2) across a wide market. Its actually good for intel since there will be better ddr2 and more competition available now.
__________________


Send me your food.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28-05-06, 04:28 PM
MonkeyMeow MonkeyMeow is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 42
Yeah they have said there release there new architecture currently called AM3 early 2007.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28-05-06, 04:46 PM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
Have you seen some of the bandwidth benches released in the last day or two? Can you say omfg! They are just impressive and Intel can't even compare to it. One good thing that AM2 has for it I guess.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28-05-06, 06:57 PM
MonkeyMeow MonkeyMeow is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='twisted5'
Have you seen some of the bandwidth benches released in the last day or two? Can you say omfg! They are just impressive and Intel can't even compare to it. One good thing that AM2 has for it I guess.
Have you even seen the new Intel review's the AM2 vs 939 comparison's have been like a 5-10% increase in performance.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28-05-06, 06:58 PM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
Of course I have seen them, still Intel can't touch AM2 on memory bandwidth. That is all that AM2 has going for it over Intel atm.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28-05-06, 08:13 PM
FragTek's Avatar
FragTek FragTek is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Stafford, VA USA
Posts: 15,931
Send a message via AIM to FragTek Send a message via MSN to FragTek Send a message via Yahoo to FragTek
Yeah the memory bandwidth is just insane... It's just too damn bad they can't make it work for them as far as overall processing speed/power is concerned.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-05-06, 08:16 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
5GHz AM2 FX-64 ftw
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29-05-06, 10:39 PM
WC Annihilus WC Annihilus is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,057
Send a message via AIM to WC Annihilus Send a message via MSN to WC Annihilus
Bandwith Power
__________________
Core i5 750 3.8GHz@1.3v under OCZ Vendetta 2

MSI P55-GD65

3x Kingston X25-V RAID0

2x Evga 9600GT SSC SLI

G.Skill Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3-1600

Corsair VX550w, Ghettoed Antec Super Lanboy

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:58 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.