Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-05-06, 01:15 PM
systech systech is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
P D's IHS is can't remove!!!

Pentium D's IHS can't remove cause between core and IHS is not termal paste,but is directly soldering.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg aDSC00320.jpg (64.1 KB, 16 views)
File Type: jpg aDSC00321.jpg (83.3 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg aDSC00322.jpg (98.6 KB, 19 views)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-05-06, 01:40 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
I hope thats not your CPU
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-05-06, 01:48 PM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
Yep they are all epoxied to the IHS I have heard of some solution that people use to remove them but can't remember what it is.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-05-06, 02:11 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Owned hahaa.

They've soldered on the IHS since the Northwood "C" revision iirc.

To remove the IHS you must get the CPU rly hot, around 55*C+, in windows.

Then proceed to shut down or cut the power and remove the HS/F fast, then cutting around the epoxy. Then repeating the heating up phase, then shutting down, removing HS/F, and slightly lifting on it. Do that again and again and again and you'll successfully remove it .

Nick
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-05-06, 02:35 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
To remove the IHS you must get the CPU rly hot, around 55*C+, in windows.
got to be an easier way to heat the cpu, like putting 0.5L of hot water on it for example.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-05-06, 02:38 PM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
You really cant get water to heat up the CPU to 55*c without having the water really hot. Now maybe something like a heat gun would work a little better.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-05-06, 02:42 PM
systech systech is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Raven'
got to be an easier way to heat the cpu, like putting 0.5L of hot water on it for example.
i think that's work.I'll try it after i have a money
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-05-06, 02:44 PM
systech systech is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='twisted5'
You really cant get water to heat up the CPU to 55*c without having the water really hot. Now maybe something like a heat gun would work a little better.
what about hairdryer???
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-05-06, 02:46 PM
twisted5 twisted5 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 361
I don't know if a hairdryer will get hot enough. 55*c is about 130*F.
__________________
DFI NF4 SLI-DR Expert Venus #s 909, 917, 924 w/ FragTek Mosfet/Ram Cooling Bracket(MUST HAVE for any expert board!)

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 352x9 1.58v

Opteron 165 CCBBE 0610 DPMW 349x9 1.51v

Opteron170 CCBWE 0550 UPMW 295x10 1.52v

3700+ KAB3E 300x10 1.61v

2x1GB Ballistix Tracer @ 3-3-6-3 1:1

7900GTX SLI (691/1784)

Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 DTS Connect

PC POWER AND COOLING 1KW

2x74gb Raptor Raid 0

3xSeagate 7200.9 300gb

NEC 3550A x2
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-05-06, 02:50 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='twisted5'
You really cant get water to heat up the CPU to 55*c without having the water really hot.
put some thermal paste on the cpu put a 0.5L metal container and pour some heated water in.

believe 0.4L 80celsius water would be more then enough.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.