Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Sub-Zero Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 22-01-13, 10:30 PM
Alias Alias is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Place in the States called Apple Valley
Posts: 39
Maximus Formula X38 + Koolance pot = No Go...

Well, I have a bit of a pickle and figured I would ask the OC3D peepz about this.

Basically, found a "unknown" maximus on ebay and won it for $30, everything including all accessories even the original supremeFX soundcard. Got it setup when it arrived with a P4 631 (wanted a good clocker, and a cheap chip in case I kill it) and low and behold, it worked.

Decided to test fit the pot and well, problem... The caps around the socket wont allow it to sit on the CPU fully. SO, what do you think I should do about this? Find a copper shim about 2-3mm thick to raise it off the CPU some? This is for weekend DICE runs and just for the fun of tweaking chips because I wanted to try out the subzero side of our dark art .

Thanks!

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-01-13, 04:01 PM
Rasmus66's Avatar
Rasmus66 Rasmus66 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 298
Remove the caps and solder them to the backside of the board instead.
__________________
Voltage - The cause and the solution to all our problems
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-01-13, 04:03 PM
ObscureParadox ObscureParadox is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: North Wales
Posts: 438
Just take them off and solder them on the other side of the board

Edit : Rasmus beet me to it XD
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-02-13, 07:26 PM
remember300's Avatar
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 1,562
what do you use to sub cool your system? and how do you measure your temps on your board
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 20-02-13, 04:09 AM
Alias Alias is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Place in the States called Apple Valley
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by remember300 View Post
what do you use to sub cool your system? and how do you measure your temps on your board
Haven't done it yet, however, I did fix the problem and found a suitable shim. I was going for Dry Ice, but you can use LN2 if you have a dewar (expensive container for LN2) if you wish.

For DICE, some good motherboards can read to about -80C or so, for anything lower, you need an external probe with a K-type thermocouple.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 20-02-13, 05:29 PM
remember300's Avatar
remember300 remember300 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chelmsford
Posts: 1,562
ah fair enough well let us know how you get on
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-09-13, 01:48 AM
Alias Alias is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Place in the States called Apple Valley
Posts: 39
Well, here's that update for you guys.

Currently sitting at 6.15 GHZ on the 631, temps are about -45 to -38C while loaded. Boot right after pulldown at 6ghz at 1.575V

I used linux to test stability with a few games and stuff. Installing windows on it now. Pics OTW
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:21 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.