Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 07-05-06, 10:39 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Yeah thats not too bad mate

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-05-06, 12:47 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_fishbulb
Got it down to mid 50s on a full load by replacing the stock thermal mat with some silver compound.

Idles at 47. I'll be happy with that
Yeah, the mobo's temp sensor is prolly a bit wonky too.

Nick
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-05-06, 04:23 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='NickS'
Yeah, the mobo's temp sensor is prolly a bit wonky too.
Doubt it, that would cause it to read lower rather than higher. What can be doen with northwoods, is the removal of the IHS, but its more dangerous to the chip for a northy than an amd. I did it, but I don't guarantee it.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-05-06, 11:13 PM
MeltedDuron MeltedDuron is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: SE London
Posts: 431
Send a message via AIM to MeltedDuron Send a message via MSN to MeltedDuron
I did a prescott IHS... I do not reccomend IHS removal unless you have an aftermarket heatsink that bolts thru the motherboard (the clips are designed for chips with spreaders, and taking the IHS off will reduce mounting pressure, which is a really bad thing)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 09-05-06, 03:31 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='MeltedDuron
I did a prescott IHS... I do not reccomend IHS removal unless you have an aftermarket heatsink that bolts thru the motherboard (the clips are designed for chips with spreaders,
True, I had a Alpha Novatech on it, which was a pretty serious sink back then .
Quote:
Originally Posted by MeltedDuron'
and taking the IHS off will reduce mounting pressure, which is a really bad thing)
Erm, I presume you mean that the chip will have less height? but it would also have a lot smaller surface area meaning the pressure would either be the similiar to before the ihs was removed or it would increase.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 09-05-06, 03:39 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
No he means that the heatsink won't even make proper contact with the IHS-less processor
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09-05-06, 04:11 PM
Phnom_Penh Phnom_Penh is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
No he means that the heatsink won't even make proper contact with the IHS-less processor
maybe, but pretty unlikely imo, the ihs is 1.5 +/- 0.05mm thick. The stock heatsinks provide 60+ pounds of force that added with the leeway that Intel gives for cpu height means it shouldn't be a problem.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09-05-06, 04:43 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Phnom_Penh'
maybe, but pretty unlikely imo, the ihs is 1.5 +/- 0.05mm thick. The stock heatsinks provide 60+ pounds of force that added with the leeway that Intel gives for cpu height means it shouldn't be a problem.
Not sure if its different for Intel, but it certainly didnt work that way for my Opteron.

I popped off the IHS, and no coolers would work on it unless they were bolt-thru.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09-05-06, 06:54 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
You can easily modify the retention bracket too, XMS.

If you look closely at the bracket you'll notice that the bottom has things coming out of it, like little legs or areas around the screw holes. Sand, grind, or somehow make the bottom of the retention bracket flat and any HS/F will work.

Nick
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09-05-06, 07:22 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Yes but the point is that I was right

And don't you forget it
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 09:34 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.