Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-05-06, 05:49 AM
watertown1978 watertown1978 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 126
L2 in regedit really help?

I have read so many mixed stuff on this XP tweak. SO i figure i would ask the pros! I noticed mine was at 0 so I did it. Comp does seem to boot up a little faster now and load things quicker, I have seen a bit of a inprovement on benchies to. Is it just me?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-06, 08:27 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
No its been said that it deffo helps

I'm not sure I did this on the last install or not :eh:
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-06, 09:32 AM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
hmmm ive never even heard of this lol

someone care to explain how its done
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-06, 11:05 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...=windows+cache Fourth post down
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-05-06, 11:38 AM
Dav0s Dav0s is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 7,983
grazi
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-05-06, 11:43 AM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
np's mate, I have a few others that I want to throw in there too. Even though it means resurrecting a rather old thread
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-05-06, 11:45 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
have one question over here.

in regedit and found the thingy and shouldnt it be 512 and decimal chosed ?

when i clicked on it hexadecimal was chosen and 512 hexadecimal is 1298 decimal.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-05-06, 12:09 PM
PV5150 PV5150 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 9,934
Dec..........Hex

128K L2 = 80

256K L2 = 100

512K L2 = 200

1024K L2 = 400

2048K L2 = 800

200h is the Hex equivalent for 512
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
"Jonathan 'Fatal1ty' Wendel may be 12-time world gaming champ, but how does he cope inside a 50c hot box sucking on a heavy load?":rocker::rocker:
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-05-06, 04:52 PM
watertown1978 watertown1978 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 126
I had 0 in mine all of mine, Maybe because windows didnt see the 1 mb L2? I have seen where alot fo people have had 256 or 512, but non e at 1 mb. I chose not to do it in Hex for dec is much easier.

So there is no yes or no to this question. Well its worth a shot doing and it seems not to hurt anything if done right so who knows.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:32 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.