Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Cases & Power
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-04-06, 05:22 AM
XinFamousX101 XinFamousX101 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
don't use Y cables???

when i was reading a Maxium pc magazine about building your own computer, i came to this line:

"Your drives require dedicated power cables-don 't use Y cables. each optical drive requires a D-shaped four-pin plug..."

so does Y cables actually have an effect on things?

my graphic card requires 2 power connectors.. and i am using a Y cable to make it into 1. so does a Y cable actually reduce the power output or something???

any help is appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-04-06, 06:31 AM
Eguy Eguy is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,086
hmm thats weird, I use 30,000 in my pc and haven't noticed a difference??
__________________
Intel C2Q Q9300 2.5Ghz

nVidia GX280

4GB Mushkin HP

4TB Raid 0+1

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-04-06, 06:37 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
using one, it splits one molex into 3 and 2 of them goes to a molex->pcie contat to the gfx card and the third one goes to a harddrive and works good.

used to have 2 of them and didnt had any trouble.

they might have forgot to mention that using y-cables on psu can eaisly push aweak psu more than it can handle.

a powerfull psu tends to have more contacts available than weaker ones.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-04-06, 06:41 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
The only possible reason i could think of is that there could be some interference put back onto the power cable, so you wouldnt want to share that with the other hard disk (some PSU's even have dedicated shielded Hard Disk cables).

Apart from that, they are just being a bit anal about it. I use a splitter. Never had a problem yet
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-04-06, 07:00 AM
dave87 dave87 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 304
I think with the PCI-e adapters (for gfx cards) your are meant to have power from 2 rails on your power suppyl, so thats why you get 2 molex connectors.

But otherwise, I see no problem in using them, though I (atm) only use them for fans
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-04-06, 07:04 AM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dave87'
I think with the PCI-e adapters (for gfx cards) your are meant to have power from 2 rails on your power suppyl, so thats why you get 2 molex connectors.
abit hard for me with only an antec truepower 380w S
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-04-06, 01:45 PM
mr_fishbulb mr_fishbulb is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 267
2 devices draw more current down one wire than 1. If the PSU can't handle it then you'll either fuse it, set it on fire, or most likely it will reset itself when you are doing something power intensive.

I'm sure it depends on what you want to split the power between. Using a Y-Splitter on a DVD Burner and a regular hard drive isn't going to draw much current, but using it on a top spec graphics card and a 10,000rpm disk drive might.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-04-06, 05:11 PM
Raven Raven is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 1,207
read along time ago that the wires on my antec is guaranted to manage 8a for each wire without problems.

8a is alot of power, its 96w for a 12v wire and very few devices even come close to that amount of power.

not even most gfx card come close to that.

according to a test xbitlabs have run my 7800gt uses almost 57w at max load or 20w idle.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28-04-06, 04:18 AM
XinFamousX101 XinFamousX101 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 28
ic

so it doesn't matter.. Great!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28-04-06, 07:15 PM
NickS NickS is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,430
My card draws about 100w load at stock settings .

Nick
__________________
Laptop

Sony VAIO CS110E 14.1" :: Core 2 Duo T5800

3GB DDR2-800 :: 250GB HDD :: Intel Media Accelerator

HTPC

Gateway GT4024 :: Intel Pentium D 805 :: 1GB DDR2-667

700GB of Storage :: ATi Xpess200 :: Sharp AQUOS 32" 720p





Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 10:22 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.