Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Cooling Forum > Liquid Cooling
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 19-08-12, 01:29 AM
Dairusire Dairusire is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
mod to fit a phobya g changer 420 in a stormtrooper

Heya guys well I'm going to be doing my first water cooling loop and first mod to my rig in the cm storm trooper. I've got the phobya g changer 420 rad which is the only thing I'll have a issue getting in. Any ideas on how I could or should mod it? Cheers all.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 19-08-12, 01:53 AM
S_I_N's Avatar
S_I_N S_I_N is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Posts: 4,288
doubt it'll fit the top so I'd look at the front of the case for fitting it. I have the very same rad and I love it.
__________________
Gigabyte Z87X-UD5H
Intel 4770K
2x 240GB Kingston HyperX 3K's in Raid0
WD Black 649Gb 64mb Sata 6GB/s
HIS 7970's in xfire
Custom water Cooled
Corsair AX860
Corsair Air540
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 19-08-12, 02:16 AM
Dairusire Dairusire is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 10
Yeah I hope I'll enjoy it :-) I know it won't fit natively but it 'might', be possible to cut the top of the case but I have a feeling it will be one big mission for sure.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 19-08-12, 05:32 AM
airdeano airdeano is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,895
well,, the overall case is 580mm and the rad is 479mm. factor the front fascia another 30mm
leaves 70mm of "play". there goes the electronics, opti-bays and i/o? or sell it and roll into a 360mm
and follow Tom's idea on fitment. just an idea..

or fire up the saws-all and top that bad-boy...

airdeano
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 31-08-12, 10:13 AM
lemonpledge's Avatar
lemonpledge lemonpledge is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Maine U.S.
Posts: 100
I agree with airdeano .. short of removing the hd cage and modding the front to accept the 420 or modding and floor mounting it your options seem limited .. best of luck though
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 31-08-12, 11:00 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,694
100% wont fit in the top, a 360 is tight up there. front is possible but nothing else will fit.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:31 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.