Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] General Forums > OC3D News
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #31  
Old 18-12-09, 03:42 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
And 400mm^2 is just 20*20mm, or below 1*1 inch for you imperials out there.

__________________






Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 18-12-09, 06:22 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sammytomjohn'
think he means 40nm
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='siravarice'
I thought he might ><
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='monkey7'
And 400mm^2 is just 20*20mm, or below 1*1 inch for you imperials out there.
^^This is what I meant. 400mm^2 isn't very big physically but its enormous for a die size. They're asking a lot of TSMC on this one, I'm not surprised in the least that there's issues.

That said, Semiaccurate ain't the most credible of sources at times best to take it with a grain of salt none the less.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
I've highlighted the other error.
Error?
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 18-12-09, 09:15 PM
sammytomjohn sammytomjohn is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,142
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Zoot'

Error?
where you said in the comment of yours he quoted you said fact! it is not fact just speculation and rumours!!
__________________
i5 750@ 4ghz on evga p55-sli

asus top gtx260, 4gb geil ultra 2133mhz

1tb f1 spinpoint, toughpowers 1200w psu

falling apart antec 1200
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 18-12-09, 09:56 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='sammytomjohn'
where you said in the comment of yours he quoted you said fact! it is not fact just speculation and rumours!!
Well Fermi is on a 40nm process which thus far only has ATi and Nvidia's GPUs (I think).

And also, the process is relatively new; there's bound to be issues with it especially with a rather large die size.

It's the way the IC fabrication process works, die shrinks on the deep sub-micron level always present issues. The leakage current that intel encountered upon switching from 65nm to 45nm is one such example which they sorted with the use of High-K Gate Dielectrics is one such example.

(Look up intel's website if you want more info)

Also the shortages of the 5XXX series is another indication that the process is not completely solid yet. However we haven't seen irrefutable proof yet, but IMO you can bet there are big issues with a new state of the art process with a colossal die size.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 19-12-09, 09:03 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Zoot 40nm process has been used by other companies in the past, not for gpus tho. Ti are doing 2xnm processes with tsmc atm.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 19-12-09, 10:01 AM
siravarice siravarice is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,183
Yeah Intel are now on 22nm with that ridiculous Cloud Processor with like, 48 cores.
__________________
Rig = My Netbook :/


Formerly Known as siravarice
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 19-12-09, 12:01 PM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,337
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Zoot 40nm process has been used by other companies in the past, not for gpus tho. Ti are doing 2xnm processes with tsmc atm.
Fair enough, that I didn't know. What sort of parts?

Also you can safely say a GPU is a more complex part than most of TI's parts. (DSP's, Microcontrollers etc.)

With a die size as big as Fermi there's bound to be issues. Granted though that 400mm^2 is hearsay at the moment but if the past GT200 series is any indication the die size is going to be rather large in comparison, yields can't be good in the beginning.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 20-12-09, 08:05 AM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
That's the biggest problem, it's pretty much all hearsay.

Texas Instruments have chips everywhere, their mostly known these days for their firewire presence. But I'm sure if u sat down with a Ti rep, they could talk for days about their other interests. Mainly data conversion, comms and the like afaic. Don't forget the calculators
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 20-12-09, 09:29 AM
Zoot's Avatar
Zoot Zoot is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,337
They do indeed. Must do a bit of digging to see that they have on the lower processes.

I'm working with a 32bit Floating Point 225MHz DSP from them at the moment. Quite a nice part I must say, very easy to work with.
__________________
AMD FX-8350 | Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD5 | 16GB DDR3 | Nvidia GTX 780

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:44 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.