Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 18-08-09, 09:50 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Jesus they've made it as ugly as possible. What a shame, thought about getting one but deffo won't. My 60GB will do me for a few years to come I reckon
You got one of the originals too Matt? Good thing about them is they seem to be worth more due to the compat chip that will never return. My 60gb is doing me fine.

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 18-08-09, 09:52 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Sony has patented some thing called Emulation something, iirc, which could suggest that in the future they could easily do a system update and add in functuality via the Cell processor.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 18-08-09, 10:01 PM
PeterStoba PeterStoba is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 1,190
It looks alot better, but it would look even better if it was gloss and not ps2 style plastic
__________________
Silverstone SG05B | i3 530 | Scythe Shuriken | DFI LanParty MI P55-T36 | 4GB Kingston HyperX 1333Mhz | XFX 5450 512MB | Samsung SN-T083C | Intel X25-V 40GB | Samsung F1 1TB

LGW2452TX-PF | Logitech G9 | Logitech G15 | Logitech Z5500

Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 18-08-09, 10:23 PM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Bungral'
You got one of the originals too Matt? Good thing about them is they seem to be worth more due to the compat chip that will never return. My 60gb is doing me fine.
Yeah mine is doing fine mate, original 60gb with a 250gb HDD in it. I've got continuous play too so I can just get it replaced with another 60GB if it fails

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='zak4994'
Sony has patented some thing called Emulation something, iirc, which could suggest that in the future they could easily do a system update and add in functuality via the Cell processor.
Never be a substitute for the PS2 chip in the 60gb machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='PeterStoba'
It looks alot better, but it would look even better if it was gloss and not ps2 style plastic
It looks smaller, but nowhere near as nice imo
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 18-08-09, 11:13 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Kempez'
Never be a substitute for the PS2 chip in the 60gb machine
We don't know that.

The previous chip they used actually played the PS2 games more worse than a real PS2 would've played it.

This patent shows that they are working with Toshiba (iirc) ro make PS2 games run properly on current PS3 hardware.

It's a bit like running an old PC game on an overclocked processor and better graphics card. The game would run a lot more better.

Anyways, I have been considering buying a PS3 for a looong time. Was just waiting for some sort of price cut. Been wanting to play some MGS4, LBP and CoD4 against friends.
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 19-08-09, 02:36 AM
FarFarAway FarFarAway is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 0
Having an actual PS2 chip in the console is far superior to emulation as it stands. Whilst it would be impressive if they did manage to achieve a good level of compatibility/playability with the Cell chip, experience shows us that it will be incredibly difficult and debatable to get it to work.

I'd be willing to eat my own words if they did it, but I'll wait and see if they do first
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 19-08-09, 01:35 PM
zak4994 zak4994 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: London, United Kingdom
Posts: 3,053
Agree with you there Kempez.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 19-08-09, 03:26 PM
AMDFTW AMDFTW is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 4,608
it doesent look to bad IMO yer if it was glossed up then it would be awsome,i may get one as i fupin love blurays and killzone and not all my mates are compuer literate but they can all turn a ps3 on and use it ha ha
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 26-08-09, 10:08 PM
FleX.overclock3d FleX.overclock3d is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 396
Pre ordered mine, cant wait. Managed to get one for £224 and the fact it now has DTS and TrueHD decoding is awesome!!
__________________
AMD Fusion

Case: SilverStone SST-SG02W-F Evolution

Motherboard: MSI 880GM E41

Processor: AMD Phenom II X6 1090t Black Edition

Memory: Corsair XMS3 4GB (2x2G DDR3 1600Mhz

Storage: Western Digital 500Gb Raid0

O/S: Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1

Visual Interface: 720p HDMI XFX Radeon HD 6770

Mouse: Gigabyte M6980 Laser Gaming Mouse

MousePad: SteelSeries Surface QcK+
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 26-08-09, 10:59 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Fugly? I am not a PS3 fan but the original is much prettier. Why the change? Really looks like a toaster now (A very cheap one at that).
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:54 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.