Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 11-08-09, 04:15 PM
Diablo Diablo is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Manchester/ Oxford Uni
Posts: 1,524
I have an 8400, and it is extremely poor with games, it might handle bioshock on low, at low resolution, but its hard to know. The main problem with these machines is that they are not aimed at gamers at all. They are based at people who want a webbox and little else.

They do have a warrantee, so if you are very unconfident, that may be a reason to go for one.

__________________

i7 3930K 4.5GHz -EK Supreme HF- Rampage IV Extreme EK Blocks - 32GB 1600MHz RAM - 680GTX SLI Koolance Blocks - Creative Titanium Pro - TJ07B-W - TCubed BigNG - 240GB SSD - 3TB HD - Dual Loop
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11-08-09, 04:34 PM
Jeddy Jeddy is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 495
A base unit like that will not have any sound cards or similar.

Building your own pc is really easy and is a really worthwhile experience

Unfortunately for £300 I dont think you will get a rig capable of running bioshock or similar.
__________________
Banned from FS&W 8/10/09
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11-08-09, 04:39 PM
fire!! fire!! is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11-08-09, 04:42 PM
Jeddy Jeddy is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 495
You can see all sorts of FPS lag there. I wouldnt be able to play grid at that kind of FPS.

He is probably around 20 there, which is too little to be considered "playable" Plus he is running at a VERY low resolution there.
__________________
Banned from FS&W 8/10/09
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11-08-09, 04:44 PM
fire!! fire!! is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
pcworld.co.uk/martprd/product/seo/089905#productInformationSection

does it have everything installed inside the base unit? which means if i buy it i can start staright away?

btw do you why pc world dont reply to emails
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11-08-09, 05:57 PM
Judderman Judderman is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Wiltshire
Posts: 250
Send a message via MSN to Judderman
My 2 Pennys :)

I would personally go for the rig speced by jeddy, that aint a bad rig for £300 and will be a lot better performance wise with the option of upgradabilty!

Even if this is a cheap 2nd rig I would still make sure you get the best you can get from your budget!

I bet the Hp machine or any other brand name machine will not give you the upgrade options of the machine spec'd.

Which ever way u go good luck
__________________
Asus P8Z77-V - Latest Bios (1908)
Intel i5-3570K
2 x OCZ Solid 3 60gb SSD (RAID0) - O/S
Noctua NH-D14 CPU Cooler
MSI Radeon HD 7870 1100 MHz Edition
16gb Mushkin RAM (1600mhz)
Antec Trupower 750w PSU
MS Windows 8 Pro 64bit O/S
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11-08-09, 05:57 PM
ToeJam ToeJam is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 568
i suggest you build 1 from scatch, if your not comfortable with doing that im sure some one on here would do it, i'd do it tbh wud take no time at all, but if your not comfortable with that you cud buy the bits and take them to a local computer store and they could knock it up for a few quid.

Also your saying you want it to be fast for games, 300quid for a full unit is only gonna get you so far mate, i either suggest save a little more and get a second hand 8800 for say 45quid and then your set for the current games around and in the near future
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 11-08-09, 07:19 PM
fire!! fire!! is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
what if i get the second option and upgrade that graphics card because it is not intergarted which means i am able to change it.

pcworld.co.uk/martprd/store/pcw_page.jsp?BV_SessionID=@@@@1953684132.125001831 8@@@@&BV_EngineID=ccgeadehmgjdgekcflgceggdhhmdgmh. 0&category_oid=-28485&sku=873905&page=Product&fm=null&sm=null&tm=n ull#productInformationSection

the only corcern is that it is vista home basic, i mean whats the differences between that and premium.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 11-08-09, 07:21 PM
ToeJam ToeJam is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 568
well im getting the impression youve made your mind up already dude so no point in me trying to help...
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11-08-09, 07:26 PM
fire!! fire!! is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 15
not even near making my mind up, just want to make sure about everything first, no harm in that is there.

what do you think if i upgrade the graphics, which i mentioned in my pervios post?

i mean is there any other way of getting a good base unit with a good graphics card without paying more than £300? if not i may as well get the nvidia base unit with 8200 graphics
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.