Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 27-06-09, 01:39 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Need 2GFX's? to run 3 or more monitors

Hi all,

I need to run 3monitors, maybe four in the future.

Do i need 2 graphics cards?

The problem is i only have 1 16x slot on my motherboard. But i do have 3 PCI and 2 PCIx1?

Any ideas?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 27-06-09, 01:43 PM
Ham Ham is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,981
You can probably get away with a single card and two dual link DVI splitter things.

Either that or a 4850X2 which has 4 DVI ports, but will only need 1 PCI-E slot.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27-06-09, 02:20 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Thats a little expensive, i dont need good graphics card as it isnt for gaming.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27-06-09, 02:51 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,319
Do all monitors need to display the same thing?

Id say a new mobo is needed and a couple of low spec cards if you want your decktop expanded across all of the monitors.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27-06-09, 02:54 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
My guess it you will need two graphics cards.

Reading up on dual link a bit:

- Max. res of a single link is 1920*1200 = 2.304.000

- Max. res of a dual link is (more or less) double that: 2560*1600 = 4.096.000

If you use two higher end (say 1680*1050) screens you'd already need 2*1680*1050 = 4.032.000, which should júst be doable. You will however need splitters which can let the DVI port believe it has two seperate screens, and I do not know if those exist.

Your second option would be a dual/triplehead2go of Matrox, but they will cost you a kidney, and probably someone else's too.

Last thing I can think of is a PCI graphics card. I heard (cannot confirm) it is possible to run a pci-e and pci card alongsides each other and run 3+ screens. Will have to check this with my own PCI card but I'll have to get it back from a friend first.

EDIT: something else, what about the PCI-e x1 slots? PCI-e is open ended so in theory you can put a very low end PCI-e x16 graphics card in there as long as it's just for office use. 2* HD3450 or 9300GT for example?
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 27-06-09, 03:02 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
So PCIx16 works in a PCIx1 slot?

If so this this will solve my problem; it'd be running like an 8400gs or similar; Ł30 ea cards.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 27-06-09, 03:04 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Will have to check with someone who has actually done it, but yes I think so. It will just run at 1 lane instead of 16, of course affecting performance.
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 27-06-09, 03:09 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,319
No mate it wont work youll need a new mobo
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 27-06-09, 03:12 PM
MarkW7 MarkW7 is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 177
Can i not run a x16 and then just a normal PCI.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 27-06-09, 03:14 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Solid arguments ttl ... -.-

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='"wikipedia"'
A PCIe card will fit into a slot of its physical size or bigger, but may not fit into a smaller PCIe slot. Some slots use open-ended sockets to permit physically longer cards and will negotiate the best available electrical connection. The number of lanes actually connected to a slot may also be less than the number supported by the physical slot size.
While wiki is not the best source, this suggests it couldbe possible, which still doesn't say a thing. From what I understand of it is that it's possible to insert longer cards into shorter slots as long as the rear is open ended like the x4 slot (that's the middle one) on this pic:



Also came across an interesting topic on this while googling:

http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/forum/...7979_10_0.html

It seems to work there.

EDIT: there's of course still the possibility of two PCI based cards, which are pretty cheap.
__________________






Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:14 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.