Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 24-06-09, 06:43 PM
Ghaz Ghaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 104
920 Temp Confusion

Built a new rig, i7 920. Had some problems with the Heatsink, sorted them out (had left the plastic protective layer on). After this the idle temp was 38C. However, after installing vista I noticed that the idle temp had gone up again. I have checked the HS is on correctly. I have never applied thermal paste before, and the layer is quite thin (due to an amount being lost with my terrible application techniques).

In the bios the idle temp is reported as about 50C. Asus PC Probe reports similar. Speedfan lists the core temps (it lists 1-5 for some reason) in the 20s, but cpu temp 50. Realtemp however, gives figures in the 30s for each core.

I'm not sure what to believe. I know my thermal paste application was not brilliant, but it is a thin uniform layer.

I am using an Asus P6T, stock 920 with an Akasa AK-967 Nero Cooler.

Some advice would be much appreciated.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 24-06-09, 06:48 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,392
Take the TIM off and stick a tim ball in the middle of the cpu about 1/2 the size of a garden pea then refit the heatsink, Vista will use the CPU more than xp due to its gay paging ect, so just make sure the CPU really is at 0% idle aswell.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24-06-09, 06:50 PM
Ghaz Ghaz is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='tinytomlogan'
Take the TIM off and stick a tim ball in the middle of the cpu about 1/2 the size of a garden pea then refit the heatsink, Vista will use the CPU more than xp due to its gay paging ect, so just make sure the CPU really is at 0% idle aswell.
The problem is I don't currently have any more (although I think I can get a friend to bring some over tommorow).

Why is it realtemp reports much better values, also?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24-06-09, 07:12 PM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,392
one will be reporting the die tempm one will be reporting the socket temp I expect.

Get MX2 dude, imho its the best there is.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:45 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.