Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 04-06-09, 04:25 PM
BiscuitCookie BiscuitCookie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
Overclock doesn't want to work

I have a E8400 which I want to OC to 3.6 ghz

but every time I change something in the jumperfree configuration menu it says on start-up "Overclock failed or Overvoltage failed"

Using Asus P5QL-CM motherboard

btw overclock software won't even get my fsb

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 04-06-09, 04:28 PM
Mul. Mul. is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 492
Did you raise the FSB from 333 to 400 in one shot or did you overclock in steps? Did you adjust your memory frequency at all?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 04-06-09, 05:25 PM
BiscuitCookie BiscuitCookie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
I tried in steps and tried in one shot also tried the auto overclock profile of 20% and everything in between(5, 10, 15)

and if I leave everything at default it just boots up and if I set ai overclock to manual it also just boots up

adjusted memory frequency to 667 so when I overclock to 400 it is on 800
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 04-06-09, 05:30 PM
rapidman17 rapidman17 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 280
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='BiscuitCookie'
I tried in steps and tried in one shot also tried the auto overclock profile of 20% and everything in between(5, 10, 15)

and if I leave everything at default it just boots up and if I set ai overclock to manual it also just boots up

adjusted memory frequency to 667 so when I overclock to 400 it is on 800
Have you touched the voltages atm?

Can you post up all your current voltages...fsb..multi etc..
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 04-06-09, 05:35 PM
BiscuitCookie BiscuitCookie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
all the voltages at default

333mhz fsb

9x multi.

ratio 5:6

1.8 volt for memory

1.072 volt cpu idle
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04-06-09, 05:42 PM
rapidman17 rapidman17 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 280
Yh i mean can u post the voltage readings? something like cpu-z will giv you core voltage and mbm should help:

http://www.pcworld.com/downloads/fil...scription.html
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04-06-09, 08:10 PM
BiscuitCookie BiscuitCookie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
mbm doesn't want to work for me comes up with something in the config wizard with the settings.dll

but I already gave the vcore which is currently (idle) 1.07v
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04-06-09, 08:20 PM
Ian Evey Ian Evey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 49
All i did was had everything on auto except fsb which i manually changed to 400mhz and that was it. I have a p5ql pro p43 but i suspect the bios settings are the same.

You really need to see how much the voltages rise when you raise the fsb it could be not enough cpu voltage ( vcore ) or not enough northbridge voltage ( NB ).

You could try setting cpu voltage to 1.3 manually with no other settings changed and see if it boots?

My cpu voltage is 1.128 at 3.6ghz on load and idle is 0.936 with speedstep enabled and everything else is on auto in bios.

Yeah MBM does not work for me either.

Ian...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-09, 12:46 AM
alexhull24 alexhull24 is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Billericay, UK
Posts: 382
Sounds like your Vcore is too low, i'd try upping it to 1.2 or something, then if you're happy with the OC and it works, get it down as far as possible. The E8400 should be good for up to 1.35V relatively safely, though I very much doubt you'll need to go that far if it's an E0 stepping.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-09, 05:10 AM
BiscuitCookie BiscuitCookie is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 15
but where do I adjust vcore because it only gives me options like 50mv, 100mv and 150mv in the jumperfree configuration menu
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:01 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.