Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 02-06-09, 10:01 AM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
New CPU or New RIG?!?!?

My RIG is like this:

Win XP sp3

AMD64 san diego 3700+ 2.2ghz

ASUS A8N5X (Socket 939)

2.5gig DDR RAM

8800GS 384MB

500gig INTERNAL + 500gig EXTERNAL HDD's

Akasa air cooling two front one rear with psu outtake.

I am thinking of upgrading my cpu to an FX60 2.6ghz but i just can't seem to find it anywhere and the one place i have seen it, it is really expensive, about £160 i think.

Does anyone know of a combo i could get as in a mobo and a cpu for less than that which would give me a little bit of a future proof motherboard and a performance gain.

Thanks in advance.


Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-06-09, 10:07 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dlads'
My RIG is like this:

Win XP sp3

AMD64 san diego 3700+ 2.2ghz

ASUS A8N5X (Socket 939)

2.5gig DDR RAM

8800GS 384MB

500gig INTERNAL + 500gig EXTERNAL HDD's

Akasa air cooling two front one rear with psu outtake.

I am thinking of upgrading my cpu to an FX60 2.6ghz but i just can't seem to find it anywhere and the one place i have seen it, it is really expensive, about £160 i think.

Does anyone know of a combo i could get as in a mobo and a cpu for less than that which would give me a little bit of a future proof motherboard and a performance gain.

Thanks in advance.

Get cheap AM2 board
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-06-09, 10:11 AM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,067
ive got a m2n32-sli mobo for sale, but your best choice is to save up alot then flog that rig for £200 or something to a nub then get a completely new fancy rig
__________________

3770k 4.6Ghz | Vapor-X 270X | 2133Mhz ripjawX | RM550 | 120GB SEVO
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 02-06-09, 11:13 AM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
I only need to replace the mobo and cpu though all the rest of my rig is transferable oh and the ram. GPU PSU HDDS and case are all fine.

Any recommendations for a decent mid priced Mobo CPU combo?

Thanks for getting back to me by the way.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 02-06-09, 11:15 AM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='dlads'
I only need to replace the mobo and cpu though all the rest of my rig is transferable oh and the ram. GPU PSU HDDS and case are all fine.

Any recommendations for a decent mid priced Mobo CPU combo?

Thanks for getting back to me by the way.
Don't know but there is no point getting socket 939, they were taken over by AM2, I got in this, the socket 939 was released and I got 4400+ for over £300-400 and within a few months AM2 was released. At that time FX was around £900 mark. AM2 is cheaper and faster.

Look for a cheap AM2 board and CPU. eBay or perhaps someone here has some?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 02-06-09, 12:12 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
For under £160 ?

U could even cross over to Intel.

(w8s to get chased out of the room by a crowd weilding pitch-forks and torches)



(just a rough example, obviously u'd spend more time looking and pick different stuff)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg untitled.JPG (20.2 KB, 45 views)
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 02-06-09, 12:21 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
For under £160 ?

U could even cross over to Intel.

(w8s to get chased out of the room by a crowd weilding pitch-forks and torches)
Possible man very possible, just when going into this sort of upgrade that £160 turns into £560, and then that £560 turns into £860 .

Happened to me!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 02-06-09, 12:28 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,067
AMD just released there Phenom II x2 550 and you can get it at scan for £80 that leaves you £80 for a cracking amd motherboard
__________________

3770k 4.6Ghz | Vapor-X 270X | 2133Mhz ripjawX | RM550 | 120GB SEVO
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02-06-09, 12:30 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,418
I may well get that Abit mobo off them this weekend tbh.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 02-06-09, 05:10 PM
dlads dlads is offline
Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 189
Ok Here we go, I juat done a bit of a search on amazons uk website as im in the uk myself, and i spotted the

AMD HDZ940XCGIBOX Phenom II X4 940 Black Edition Quad-core Processor - 3.00 GHz,8MB L2 Cache,Socket AM2+,125W,45 nm,3 Year Warranty,Retail Boxed,

it costs £149.99 and i am thinking of coupling it with

Gigabyte GA-M720-US3 - Motherboard - ATX - nForce 720D MCP - Socket AM2+ - UDMA133, Serial ATA-300 (RAID) - Gigabit Ethernet - FireWire - High Definition Audio (8-channel)

which costs £55.89

I am at a loss at this point as i have very little knowledge of am2 and the surrounding chips so some advice would be good here, ive heard raving reviews of the phenom 2 x4 and what it can do, I dont know much about the gigabyte mobo other than that it can take the phoenom 2.

I would also need some ram and again im at a loss as to what is best to buy, and before i have to post again, i imagine i would need a bigger power supply?? 400w wouldn't cut it no?

I will have about £300 no more, if i can get away with getting these for less then i will cos i am on a budget.

Any advice here would be most helpful and appreciated.

Thanks in advance again.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:48 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.