Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Overclocking
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 10-02-09, 08:09 PM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
opps... spoke to soon

do i have a weak core it's always core 3 that fails prime

Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 10-02-09, 08:39 PM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
is it normal after a failed overclock whereby it's booted to windows then bluescreened running prime - to then have to reset the cmos because all i get is a black screen when it reboots?

edit - my bad - lol after leaving it off for 30 secs it boots up to bios fine!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-02-09, 05:48 PM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
Ok i've come along since the last post -

Got a new Q6600

Setting so far are:

7x465 - Boots into windows but freezes under Prime95 after about 1 minute

CPU - 1.4V

NB voltage is 1.5

FSB Termination 1.4

All other voltages normal

Ram timings - 6-6-6-15 on pc2-85000 running at less than 1066mhz rated timings are 5-5-5-15

I don't think it's CPU voltage holding me back what else can it be???????????????????????????????????????????????? ?????????
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-02-09, 05:50 PM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
CPU set between 1.35 - 1.45 behaves exactly the same
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13-02-09, 08:04 AM
tinytomlogan's Avatar
tinytomlogan tinytomlogan is offline
The Guvnor
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: TTL Towers
Posts: 15,562
not all quads like FSB tbh mate, Id say you are just getting to limits of the cpu.

anything above 450 stable on a q6600 is a billy bonus.

Drop the fsb and put the multi up now, see what you can get.
__________________

If you recommend a product LINK THE REVIEW


Get along or run along. Your choice
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 18-02-09, 11:31 AM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
dropped the FSB to 425 multi 8 everythings running fine just running prime blend now for at least 8 hours to check then i'll start trying to drop the voltages slightly... at the moment NB is 1.3 and Vcore is 1.4

thanks will keep u all updated
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 18-02-09, 11:34 AM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
just coming up to stable 2 hours prime with max temp during the two hours at 64 degrees set at Tjmax 90
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 18-02-09, 02:04 PM
purplemonkey purplemonkey is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 97
4 hours prime stable

Dropped the NB right down to 1.2 just checking stability with prime... the P5Q-E really doesn't seem to need too many volts unless your really pushing the FSB at the moment it's running 425 at stock voltage we'll see if it stays stable...

I think I'm beginning to settle for 3.4ghz OC 3.6 would be nice but the voltages really do shoot up for a fairly insignificant real world gain
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 03:04 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.