Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Project Logs & Gallery > Rig Gallery
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 26-01-09, 11:38 PM
Sleekit Sleekit is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 274
Nice simple set-up

Looking forward to seeing your other rig!

__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
GFX: nVidia XFX 260 Black Edition
RAM: Corsair 12GB
Case: Antec P182
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-01-09, 11:48 PM
soapsupah soapsupah is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 274
pretty good looking, very clean, also good hardware inside

show me your other rig someday

Soap.
__________________
Soap's rig


Q6600 @ 3.0ghz / thermalright ultra 120 / MSI P35 Platinum / Gforce 8600 GT super 512 / 2gb Kingston HiperX / Soyo 460w / Maxtor 250gb
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 31-01-09, 12:22 AM
maxw maxw is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
My computer is out of action at the moment.

I fitted the tubing tonight:













Sorry for the rubbish pics.

I just need another connector, and some hose clips as WCUK haven't sent me mine yet. I'll get some of those Worm Drive Clips tomorrow.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 31-01-09, 12:35 AM
soapsupah soapsupah is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 274
wow, its small outside but has great hardware inside

do you use it on lan party's or just like small cases?

also when i saw the white tubbing i remembered the ones in the shower here in my house

just another question; wich name those 90º barbs at the gtz have? they look pretty good, i just can't find them at stores, maybe im not searching with the right name
__________________
Soap's rig


Q6600 @ 3.0ghz / thermalright ultra 120 / MSI P35 Platinum / Gforce 8600 GT super 512 / 2gb Kingston HiperX / Soyo 460w / Maxtor 250gb
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 31-01-09, 12:46 AM
maxw maxw is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
I wanted the challenge of fitting watercooling in a small case

And I was sick of having so much wasted space in the normal cases, it seemed a bit of a waste.

the connectors on the GTZ are: http://www.watercoolinguk.co.uk/cata...roducts_id=832 with TFC compression fittings

It's a shame because the cables will be very untidy :P

Also, I'm a bit worried that I wont be able to see inside and there will be water inside because there might be a leak... With compression fittings does that mean they can't leak?
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 31-01-09, 12:53 AM
soapsupah soapsupah is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 274
thanks for the info about the fittings, reps to you

also the compression fittings must be used with the OD/ID designed for it if the wall isnt thick enough it will probaly leak.

also they arent 100% leak proof, but they give a good protection.

the only thing i know that has the best protection agains leaking would be a metal clamp and a large fitting togheter

if the first condition i said is done just ignore the other ones.
__________________
Soap's rig


Q6600 @ 3.0ghz / thermalright ultra 120 / MSI P35 Platinum / Gforce 8600 GT super 512 / 2gb Kingston HiperX / Soyo 460w / Maxtor 250gb
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 31-01-09, 12:57 AM
maxw maxw is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='soapsupah'
thanks for the info about the fittings, reps to you

also the compression fittings must be used with the OD/ID designed for it if the wall isnt thick enough it will probaly leak.

also they arent 100% leak proof, but they give a good protection.

the only thing i know that has the best protection agains leaking would be a metal clamp and a large fitting togheter

if the first condition i said is done just ignore the other ones.
The ID/OD of the tubing is correct, I just can't decide whether to spend the extra money and get all compression fittings before I fill it up :P
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 31-01-09, 01:13 AM
soapsupah soapsupah is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 274
if you have the money go for it, it looks cooler aswell, but if you dont, just put hooseclamps and the other ones will be fine (if they already arent)

if this is your first wc build, don't forget to wash all the loop itens, specially the rad, if it isnt cleaned the residues of the rad manufacturing can broke your pump (note that if you already know ignore this aswell, im just saying because i knew dudes who broke their pumps because they didnt clean the materials before doing the loop ).

anyways good luck at your leak test

cya later dude.
__________________
Soap's rig


Q6600 @ 3.0ghz / thermalright ultra 120 / MSI P35 Platinum / Gforce 8600 GT super 512 / 2gb Kingston HiperX / Soyo 460w / Maxtor 250gb
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 31-01-09, 01:18 AM
maxw maxw is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 430
Yep, I'm trying to find some distilled water. Does it have to be distilled water? or can it just be normal?
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 31-01-09, 01:29 AM
soapsupah soapsupah is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 274
for cleaning just normal water (boil it first if possible) and shake the rad / res etc. but dont put it inside when its too hot (you already know why )

for the coolant you can make your own using distiled water, being more especifc the demineralized one (yes i found distiled ones with minerals and that dont work, i didnt even knew that it existed ).

some pt_nuke (biocide) to kill algae ~ just one or two drops will work per liter of water.

note that distiled water is all you will need, since it is non condutive (it wont get your mobo fried if leaks ~ just a small leak though lol)

also you can add dyes to get some cool colors, but i dont like them, someday they will make the tubbing colored (if it was clear) and the own coolant you made will loose color with time and when you open your block it will be all there

small edit -- this is distiled water

but for its price you can go to an automobile store and get some liters at same price maybe.

link for pt_nuke
__________________
Soap's rig


Q6600 @ 3.0ghz / thermalright ultra 120 / MSI P35 Platinum / Gforce 8600 GT super 512 / 2gb Kingston HiperX / Soyo 460w / Maxtor 250gb
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.