Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Graphics & Displays > Graphics Cards
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #21  
Old 26-01-09, 06:17 PM
kataras kataras is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
30%!!! hmm my xfx295 required no more volts and hit the max GPU mhz limit on the rivatuner....need to find a bios editor.
Nibitor is your friend

Youll find it here together with anyt other bioses you might need. Community is pretty helpful there as well

Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 26-01-09, 06:25 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
unfortunatley nibitor does not yet support the gtx 295 or does it ???
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 26-01-09, 08:20 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
voltage tweaker that sounds intresting.

although on my xfx card my gpu is maxed out @685 stable maxed I mean it will not go higher due to some kind of limiter I imagine, nibitor might be a thought soon
It does look very good... I was thinking maybe if I still got the BFG, they might make one, but that is very unlikely given their view on overclocking. Good thing about this is EVGA will still cover it by their warranty so no voidage.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Luigi'
I saw that, Cant afford the 295 but im going for an EVGA 260 for the exact same reason.. you can get another 30% out of the clocks with bigger volts
Yeah I was looking in the EVGA forum thread about it and it does look like a massive gain can be obtained from this utility even without watercooling... If it's a good card with some decent watercooling, then I reckon you'd be looking at 850MHz + on the core. (maybe).

I was thinking that if I went ahead and paid the extra £40 for the EVGA card, then the extra performance I can gain could make me keep the card a little longer than I normally do.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='SwaleSmith'
30%!!! hmm my xfx295 required no more volts and hit the max GPU mhz limit on the rivatuner....need to find a bios editor.
Try to download EVGA precision... Meant to be a very good utility and will work on other manufacturers cards.

Loving the look of the voltage tweaker though:



__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 27-01-09, 09:49 AM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
might giv that a go later although apparently I've heard you need to resart it evertime you boot into windows!!!

Not sure 100% if that is indeed true though??

will give it a shot later and let you know...when do you get your card bungral???

p.s don't think they really need wc unless you really like it very quiet I find them much quieter then the X2 and yu can use low level tuning in reivatuner to lower the idle fan point to about 34% were its hardly audible...the fan ramps up to about 65% on intensive gaming but I cannot here due to all the noise LOL it gets prtty hot but not quiet as hot as the X2 once again.....but if you volt mod then could be beneficial.
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 27-01-09, 03:21 PM
agallo agallo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
Have my GTX 295 for 2 days had to RMA it because of Electrical noise it was making. Ran FC2 perfect and crysis with everything maxed. Only wish I had it back
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 27-01-09, 03:36 PM
Sihastru Sihastru is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: You are here.
Posts: 269
You mean coil squeaking noise? So many cards have that... but usually only at load, so I don't think it's such a big deal.
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 27-01-09, 03:41 PM
agallo agallo is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Sihastru'
You mean coil squeaking noise? So many cards have that... but usually only at load, so I don't think it's such a big deal.
Yeah it only happened on load but it was loud and for $500 I shouldn't have to worry about that noise haha.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 27-01-09, 03:48 PM
Sihastru Sihastru is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: You are here.
Posts: 269
You're telling that to a guy (me...) that wants a 295 so bad, he would spin the fan with his finger... lol. Coil noise is so low on my list of problems...
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 27-01-09, 04:23 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='agallo'
Yeah it only happened on load but it was loud and for $500 I shouldn't have to worry about that noise haha.
A change in power source can expidite than issue in most cases.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 27-01-09, 04:56 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Tried evga precision tweaker there appers to no voltage option for me maybe cause my card is xfx but this tweaker is basicaly rivatuner in disguise!!!!
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 11:30 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.