Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > New Build Advice
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 18-01-09, 06:07 PM
Efekkt Efekkt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38
PC runs extremely slow right after startup.

specs:

AM2 4600+ running at 2.4ghz (non-oc)

2 GB crucial ballistix 8500

8800 GT

250 HDD

Silverstone 560W PSU

lately my computer has been running extremely slow just right after i get into windows. i'm not sure if the problem lies with my hdd because not long ago i was getting chkdsk errors but that cleared off once i cleared my cmos so i'm not too sure what the problem is right now. it still runs very slow at the beginning, taking ages to even open my computer.

i overclocked my processor and ram a couple of times, but the settings are back on auto now. could that have affected it?

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 18-01-09, 06:11 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Check for spyware or viruses, you can download free trials, also try booting up with just services enabled. See if this still boots slow.

Start --> Run --> msconfig --> General tab --> Select Diagnostic Startup, and then reboot. Then see if it still happens. To reset back to normal, load windows do the same as I have mentioned only clicking normal startup.

Then reply.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18-01-09, 06:13 PM
Efekkt Efekkt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38
yeah, there was a vbs worm a while back but i think i took care of it. the worm has never effected the performance though, not this bad at least. i'll do what you said and post the results here when i'm done. thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 18-01-09, 06:33 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
do a control-atl-delete and see if there are any processes using up lots of cpu time/ram.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 18-01-09, 06:40 PM
Efekkt Efekkt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38


umm, is that it?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 18-01-09, 06:42 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Efekkt'


umm, is that it?
Thats fine mate, nothing wrong with that process. Same for everyone.

From that we can tell that any process is using a lot of CPU. How much memory are the programs taking? You can sort by memory usage by clicking memory.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18-01-09, 06:56 PM
Efekkt Efekkt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Thats fine mate, nothing wrong with that process. Same for everyone.

From that we can tell that any process is using a lot of CPU. How much memory are the programs taking? You can sort by memory usage by clicking memory.
not much, really. the max is firefox which is taking up 155,028 K. next in line would be explorer at 37,580 K.

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Check for spyware or viruses, you can download free trials, also try booting up with just services enabled. See if this still boots slow.

Start --> Run --> msconfig --> General tab --> Select Diagnostic Startup, and then reboot. Then see if it still happens. To reset back to normal, load windows do the same as I have mentioned only clicking normal startup.

Then reply.
alright, i did what you told me to do and it seems that under the diagnostic startup, there were no signs of slowness at all so i'm guessing it's something in the startup? cause i reverted back to the normal startup and it became slow again.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18-01-09, 07:04 PM
nathan nathan is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 3,798
be sure to tick the check mark to say show all processes from all users.
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18-01-09, 07:08 PM
Efekkt Efekkt is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 38
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='nathan'
be sure to tick the check mark to say show all processes from all users.
yup, it's ticked. i ticked and unticked it and nope, no hidden processes.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 18-01-09, 07:33 PM
Youngie1337 Youngie1337 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Rugby
Posts: 2,625
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Efekkt'
yup, it's ticked. i ticked and unticked it and nope, no hidden processes.
Well it seems a good sign mate, now you're going to need to add each item to the startup list one by one, or a few at a time, to find the culprit. Restarting every time you apply, if it slows down, see what you have JUST enabled and remove it from startup.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.