Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 17-01-09, 10:17 PM
charlie-j charlie-j is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 182
Getting rid of QX6700 - what shall I get?

Hey

Buying a QX6700 was a waste of money considering I won't even be using it for overclocking... I don't even know why I bought it.

I want a similarly good CPU... the Q6600 will be the same.

What do you think?

If I get more money for the QX6700 than the cost of the new one, I am happy to change my budget.

Thanks for your time

Charlie.

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17-01-09, 11:05 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
???huh???
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17-01-09, 11:34 PM
B|oodThorn B|oodThorn is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 36
Hmmmmm!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17-01-09, 11:54 PM
ironviper ironviper is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 55
Are you selling it to us? PM me with price :O
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21-01-09, 08:01 PM
charlie-j charlie-j is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 182
I am selling my QX6700, if I don't do a swap with another forum member!

What else should I get that's similar performance but a lower cost?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21-01-09, 08:18 PM
TopSecret TopSecret is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 876
Why not just stick with what you have? You are going to lose money on selling the chip second hand, and to buy another CPU with similar performance seems a bit cuckoo to me
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21-01-09, 08:25 PM
charlie-j charlie-j is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 182
Well... I don't really know how to overclock
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 21-01-09, 09:11 PM
Bungral Bungral is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 4,385
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='charlie-j'
Well... I don't really know how to overclock
Learn man! Learn!

First spend a couple of hours reading the stickies on this forum and then spend a while tinkering and then ask us any questions you might have
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K @ 4700mhz - 47 x 100MHz Mobo: MSI P67A GD65 GPU: EVGA GTX 570 RAM: 2 x 4GB Mushkin LV 1.35v 1600MHz DDR3 HDD: 3 x 1TB Samsung Spinpoint F3's Case: CoolerMaster ATCS 840 - Custom House of Kolor paint job. PSU: Corsair HX750 Cooling: Custom WC - XSPC Delta V3, PA120.3, DDC Ultra with XSPC Res Top, 3/8" XSPC UV Green Tubing over 1/2" Barbs OS: Windows 7 Enterprise Edition 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 21-01-09, 09:16 PM
charlie-j charlie-j is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 182
Ok, I'll try my best, but first I need some watercooling http://forum.overclock3d.net/showthr...t=watercooling
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 21-01-09, 10:00 PM
moogle moogle is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London
Posts: 233
Q6600 is similiar

Should have never got that QX6700 if you weren't overclocking. Hell shouldn't have got it as I think it didn't let you overclock that much further than the Q6600 unless you were on crazy cooling
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.