Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Processors & Platforms > Mainboard & CPU
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #11  
Old 02-01-09, 12:40 PM
Ghosthud1's Avatar
Ghosthud1 Ghosthud1 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Huddersfield
Posts: 2,088
he's got a 9800gtx+ , i recommended this fella

__________________

Laptop
[i7-4710MQ | 16GB | 500GB SEVO | GTX 860M]
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 02-01-09, 12:44 PM
monkey7 monkey7 is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 2,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Youngie1337'
Maybe he just forgot to post his GFX.
You think? Naaahh I don't.

No seriously, have you leak tested the loop before installing?
__________________






Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 02-01-09, 12:53 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
The Striker II Extreme has one of those diagnostic LCD's you can plug into the motherboard doesn't it? I'd suggest connecting that and see if gets stuck anywhere during boot.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 02-01-09, 12:57 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
You need a GPU.

Id suggest removing a stick a RAM to get the system going as 4Gb is usually a pain to boot initially.
__________________
Ritchie :haha:

If at first you don't succeed, buy a new part
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 02-01-09, 01:19 PM
Sleekit Sleekit is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 274
Well I had this problem but it was cause i had forgotton to plug the 8-pin power connector into the top of the mobo (so you should have 2 power cables going into your mobo)

Check that lol
__________________
CPU: Intel Core i7-2600K CPU @ 3.40GHz
Mobo: Gigabyte Z68XP-UD3P
GFX: nVidia XFX 260 Black Edition
RAM: Corsair 12GB
Case: Antec P182
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Black 640GB
HDD 2: Western Digital Caviar Black 2TB
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 02-01-09, 02:26 PM
xenunx xenunx is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Im only using a 4pin which i read in some forums that it was ok

Yeah ghosthud1 refered me he knows im using a 9800GTX+

Yeah I did check it's not leaking
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 02-01-09, 02:28 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='xenunx'
Im only using a 4pin which i read in some forums that it was ok

Yeah ghosthud1 refered me he knows im using a 9800GTX+
Before you go RMA'ing anything I'd deffo try with an 8-Pin, even if its just an adapter cable.

4-Pin hasn't worked on a lot of the boards I've tried.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 02-01-09, 02:40 PM
xenunx xenunx is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 48
Im looking for a local store right now or maybe a new power supply one with 8pin connector
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 02-01-09, 06:55 PM
rrjwilson rrjwilson is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 574
Yeh it IS the EPS lead.

4pin is NOT ok. I know! Its my board!

It is NOT an adaptor either (even though you could do it that way) you need enough power on the EPS rail and a C2D at 4GHz will be drawing loads through the EPS.
__________________
Ritchie :haha:

If at first you don't succeed, buy a new part
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 02-01-09, 07:41 PM
SwaleSmith SwaleSmith is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 967
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='rrjwilson'
Yeh it IS the EPS lead.

4pin is NOT ok. I know! Its my board!

It is NOT an adaptor either (even though you could do it that way) you need enough power on the EPS rail and a C2D at 4GHz will be drawing loads through the EPS.
Yes I can confirm this, you will need 8 pin!!!
__________________
Lian Li V1000 Plus - Core i7 920-Rampage II X58-Watercooled With 2x Feser TFC Xchanger 120mm Rad, EK Supreme Acrylic CPU Block, Laing DDC-1T Ultra Alphacool Top XSPC Res-XFX GTX295 (Overclocked 680/1380/1100mhz) - 3x2GB (6GB Total) Corsair Dominator Triple Channel DDR3 1600mhz - Tagan Piperock 1100w PSU - OCZ Summit 120GB SSD (O.S) - 2x WD Velociraptors Raid-0 (Storage) -Windows 7 RC1 64Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 07:09 PM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.