Go Back   Overclock3D Forums > [OC3D] Hardware & Software > Networks & Security
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
  #1  
Old 05-05-08, 08:57 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Network/Internet performance troubles

Recently the internet has been dead slow. I have done speed tests and all say the normal speed, of which it should be.

At the moment it is really bugging me as I am trying to write an article for the front page and I keep getting constant blank pages and no connection to speak of.

Decided to check for viruses... nothing.

I now type netstat into CMD and get what the piccar attached shows. Lots of time_waiting.

Any ideas?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Time_wait.JPG (65.0 KB, 23 views)

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 05-05-08, 09:24 PM
deathwish deathwish is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,145
hi tox is it affecting more than one computer

or just yours

thanks
__________________
There are 10 types of people in the world those who understand binary and those who dont

Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Jim'
Is it wrong that I'm enjoying this
-----------------------------------------------------------

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-05-08, 09:57 PM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
It was/is effecting two computers... my main and my work PC.

I thought I had it fixed.. but for some reason the main PC is still slow.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-05-08, 11:19 PM
Nick R Nick R is offline
Advanced Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 281
What's your router and how old is it?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06-05-08, 05:48 AM
Toxcity Toxcity is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 6,969
Im running on a 3Com 3CRWDR100A-72 and I believe it is about 2-3years old.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 30-12-08, 09:06 PM
benco benco is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 6
you can change the port.

you can plug two computers to the router and ping it /comps/

and then you can ping router , and ping WAN provider router
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 31-12-08, 07:24 AM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
The TIMED_WAIT is absolutely nothing to worry about mate. From what I remember it's just open sockets waiting for connections or something along those lines.

Try this at the command prompt:

tracert www.overclock3d.net

It will give you a breakdown of what routes your ISP is taking to get to OC3D
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 31-12-08, 11:29 AM
nunzio nunzio is offline
OC3D Crew
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 774
try using winmtr it is a traceroute tool like in Jim's post above, but will keep runing until you close it, let it run for about an hour and post the results.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 31-12-08, 03:22 PM
Rastalovich's Avatar
Rastalovich Rastalovich is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Testing hardware somewhere
Posts: 11,419
Just like to point out for the record that Tox had this issue in June

Where is Tox btw ?
__________________


Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 31-12-08, 03:24 PM
JN JN is offline
OC3D Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 13,678
Quote:
Originally Posted by name='Rastalovich'
Just like to point out for the record that Tox had this issue in June

Where is Tox btw ?
BAH bloody thread resurectors
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump






All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 AM.
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.